Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

Ebooks available to read online:

Sexually Transmitted Diseases : a practical guide for primary care

Sexually Transmitted Diseases : a practical guide for primary care

A review of diagnosis and treatment issues in STDs. This book includes clinical guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It offers approaches to consultation and care, including how to give bad news sensitively and how to teach patients to empower themselves with the tools they need for lowering their risk for contracting.

Damaged Goods? : women living with incurable sexually transmitted diseases

Damaged Goods? : women living with incurable sexually transmitted diseases

Damaged Goods adds to our knowledge of how women are affected by living with chronic STDs and reveals the stages of their sexual- self transformation. The author was diagnosed with a cervical HPV infection herself.  In this book she covers the anxiety of being diagnosed with an STD to issues of blame and shame.  She shows why these women feeling that they are "damaged goods," question future relationships, marriage, and their ability to have healthy children.

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library

Books on sexually transmitted diseases can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
RA644.V4 This section is focused on answering questions about diseases and your health.
RC200.2  This section is focused on the medical explanations of sexually transmitted diseases.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases : your questions answered

Sexually Transmitted Diseases : your questions answered

This book uses a simple Q&A format to make the subject accessible to readers. It provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book via case studies and helps readers to hone their research and critical thinking skills. The author dispels popular misconceptions and points readers toward accurate information as well as guiding readers toward useful books, organizations, and websites.

Sexually Transmitted Infections

Sexually Transmitted Infections

Incidences of STIs such as chlamydia and gonorrhoea have been dramatically and silently rising in many parts of the world in recent years.  This book explains how and why the seemingly reliable tests from a hospital laboratory can be misleading and, in many cases, actually wrong. This new edition has been brought up-to-date with coverage of the new HPV vaccine for cervical cancer, recent work on the etiology of bacterial vaginosis, evidence on the treatment and management of genital herpes simplex, and a totally revived section on HIV and AIDS. Using the early section on symptoms, the reader is rapidly pointed to the relevant section of the book for explanations and reassurance. 

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook : basic consumer health information about sexual health and the screening, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of common sexually transmitted diseases

Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook

This book provides basic consumer health information about risk factors, symptoms, testing, and treatment of sexually transmitted diseases and related complications, along with facts about prevention strategies. It includes an index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.