Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

EBooks available to read online:

Divorcing Children

Divorcing Children

Drawing on a three-year multidisciplinary study of children of divorced parents, the authors, leading academics in their fields, present a much-needed guide to understanding the experience of children who are experiencing parental separation. This book provides an in-depth account of how children are actively involved in the process of divorce and how they shape that experience.

Surviving Divorce

Surviving Divorce

This book gives 21 strategic steps to planning for divorce and covers everything from finding the best ways to expedite the process, avoid unneeded expenses, handle custody and visitation, deal with emotions, and help children through the conflict.

It's Splitsville

It's Splitsville

In It's Splitsville: Surviving Your Divorce, veteran divorce attorney James J. Gross breaks down the divorce process for non-lawyers in easy-to-understand steps. He explains the legal system in plain and simple language, and he describes the process of obtaining a fair separation agreement and navigating family law and the legal system. Just as important, it explains the emotional hazards of divorce and how to withstand the myriad pressures you will face. It's Splitsville: Surviving Your Divorce: Explains divorce laws in easy-to-understand words.

Healing after Divorce

Healing after Divorce

Focusing on the natural grief children endure when their parents divorce, this guide helps kids process the common feelings of shock, sadness, anger, guilt, and relief while highlighting their most vital need--love and support. The handbook helps children name and understand these strange new emotions and affirms that their thoughts and feelings are natural while teaching them the value of constructively expressing them. An assortment of suggested physical and verbal activities for mourning grief are also included.

Great Answers to Difficult Questions about Divorce

Great Answers to Difficult Questions about Divorce

When faced with their parents' divorce, children have many concerns and questions that are difficult for a parent to answer. This book explores children's thoughts and feelings and provides parents with guidance on how to respond to difficult questions. The author covers all the common questions that children ask and provides sensitive, candid answers in a way that children will be able to understand and relate to. Each chapter is devoted to a particular issue, such as why parents separate, what will happen during and after the divorce, and who the child is going to live with.

Transcending Divorce

Transcending Divorce

This resource provides 10 essential touchstones for hope and healing when enduring a divorce while simultaneously dispelling common misconceptions associated with divorce. Stressing the importance of the need to fully mourn the loss of a relationship before moving on, this guide will help divorcees reconcile and discover a happy, healthy life.

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library:

Books on divorce can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
HQ834
 This section is focused on the aftermath of divorce and the family
KF535 This section is focused on legal help with divorce

Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce

Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce

Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce provides clear answers that can help make divorce simpler and reduce its financial and emotional cost. Readers will even learn how to complete the divorce with minimal help from an attorney. With compassion and understanding, Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce explains what to expect through each stage of divorce.

Children of Divorce

Children of Divorce

Featuring excerpts of essays collected from over one thousand young adults while in the throes of divorce, this book paints a picture of the pain and the hope shown by the storytellers. By framing the narratives with an analysis of the most recent divorce literature, the authors provide readers with a greater and more vivid understanding of the effects of divorce.

File for Divorce in New Jersey

File for Divorce in New Jersey

Learn how to:- File an Uncontested or Contested Divorce- Protect Your Assets, Yourself and Your Children- Save Money when Working with a Lawyer- Negotiate Child Support and Visitation Agreements.  Ready-to-Go forms with Step-by-Step Instructions, essential documents you need to:- End the Marriage and Start Fresh- Resolve Property Disputes - Calculate Child Support- Develop a Visitation Schedule-  And much more . . .

The 10 Stupidest Mistakes Men Make When Facing Divorce

The 10 Stupidest Mistakes Men Make When Facing Divorce

Each year 500,000 men will face divorce, and most of them make at least one crucial--and often irreversible--mistake. These errors might seem minor, such as moving out while things get sorted out, or thinking of "temporary" orders as being truly temporary. But when they get to court, these men discover they have put themselves in a terrible position. They may have to give up their house, pay impossibly high alimony, or even lose custody.  This book identifies the 10 most common mistakes that end up hurting men in divorce.