Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

EBooks available to read online:

Health and Health Promotion in Prisons

Health and Health Promotion in Prisons

The impact of the United Nations "Healthy Prisons" initiative has highlighted the importance of health and health promotion in incarcerated populations. This book discusses the many health and medical issues that arise or are introduced into prisons from the perspective of both inmates and prison staff. 

Vulnerable Older Adults

Vulnerable Older Adults

Based on the concept that vulnerability in the older populace encompasses those who are at increased risk for physical and psychosocial health problems, this book takes a closer look at vulnerability and how it affects five specific populations within the elderly: those incarcerated in prisons.; the homeless: gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people; those who are HIV positive or living with AIDS; the frail. Both physical and psychosocial health care issues and needs are addressed as well as interventions and resources that can be implemented to care for these very specific populations and their requirements for successful physical and mental health care. 

Adolescent Health

Adolescent Health

This book covers the developmental and health problems unique to the adolescent period of life. It focuses on special needs and public health programs for adolescents. It offers deep insight into smoking, violence, teen pregnancy, HIV/AIDS, and other problems, along with intervention and prevention strategies.

Sleep in the Military

Sleep in the Military

Given the unprecedented demands on the U.S. military since 2001 and the risks posed by stress and trauma, there has been growing concern about the prevalence and consequences of sleep problems. This first-ever comprehensive review of military sleep-related policies and programs, evidence-based interventions, and barriers to achieving healthy sleep offers a detailed set of actionable recommendations for improving sleep across the force.

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library:

Books on health and hygiene can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
RA418.3  This section is focused on access and quality of healthcare in the U.S.
RA564.8 - RA564.9  This section has books on healthcare issues for specific groups such as women, transgender and seniors.
RA778  This section is focused on the medical conditions of healthcare for specific groups.
Health Disparities in the United States

Health Disparities in the United States

The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide disparities persist between social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. In this revised edition of Health Disparities in the United States, Donald A. Barr provides extensive new data about the ways low socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact to create and perpetuate these health disparities.

Transgender Health Issues

Transgender Health Issues

Transgender individuals face unique challenges when it comes to their physical, psychological, and social health and well-being. This accessible reference investigates these concerns in depth, offering readers insights into topics such as discrimination and access to health care.

Voices of the Women's Health Movement, Volume 1

Voices of the Women's Health Movement

A collection of essays, interviews and commentary by leading activists, writers, doctors and sociologists on topics ranging across reproductive rights, sex and orgasm, activism, motherhood and contraception.  Highlights include influential writings on birth control, menstruation, pregnancy and birthing, motherhood, menopause, abortion, and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender health. 

The Fragile Wisdom

The Fragile Wisdom

So many women who do everything right to stay healthy still wind up with breast cancer, heart disease, or osteoporosis. In The Fragile Wisdom, Grazyna Jasienska provides an evolutionary perspective on the puzzle of why disease prevention among women is so frustratingly difficult. 

Our Bodies, Ourselves

Our Bodies, Ourselves

This is a comprehensive guide to all aspects of women's health and sexuality, including menopause, birth control, childbirth, sexual health, sexual orientation, gender identity, mental health and general well-being. This edition provides information on women's reproductive health and sexuality; practical information on how to find and access health information; and resources, stories, and information to educate women about health care injustices and inspire them to work collectively to address them. 

Poverty and Health

Poverty and Health

A collection of in-depth essays focused on the health issues facing the poorest populations in the United States as it relates to the common good of all Americans. Despite living in one of the wealthiest countries in the world, far too many low-income and no-income men, women, and children in this nation are without health insurance or health care. More than half of those financially bereft have a serious health problem, with poor children three to five times more likely to experience chronic health issues than their more affluent peers. This book is a compilation of writings that address the complex problem of poverty and health across location and population.

Pathogenic Policing

Pathogenic Policing

The relationship between undocumented immigrants and law enforcement officials continues to be a politically contentious topic in the United States. Nolan Kline focuses on the hidden, health-related impacts of immigrant policing to examine the role of policy in shaping health inequality in the U.S., and responds to fundamental questions regarding biopolitics, especially how policy can reinforce 'race' as a vehicle of social division. 

Nutrition and Well-Being a to Z

Nutrition and Well-Being a to Z

More so than for nearly any other topic, the pendulum of opinion on nutrition swings from one extreme to another. Just a few years ago the U.S. government-issued food pyramid promoted carbohydrate-rich grains over protein. Recently, the Atkins diet proposes a low carb regimen that includes steak and eggs breakfasts. Where can the student in health class and general reader turn for accurate, dependable, fad-free information?

Asian Voices

Asian Voices

Asian and Asian-American health educators discuss the implications of cultural factors in providing health services to Asian and Asian-American communities. 

The Smart Student's Guide to Healthy Living

The Smart Student's Guide to Healthy Living

Fight the Freshman Fifteen, Sleepless Nights, and Other Pitfalls of College Life Welcome to college life. It's full of possibilities -- and pitfalls. Cafeteria food is awful, but there sure is a lot of it. And you can eat as much (or more) of anything -- and everything -- as you want. And in a single year of study, you can grow a gut that will haunt you for the rest of your life. No one in the dorm is going to tell you when to go to bed, and you can wear each all-night cram session like a badge of honor. But on two hours of sleep a night, the circles under your eyes will make you look like a raccoon before midterms -- which you'll then probably fail. And exercise -- what's that? Say hello to thunder thighs and saggy bat-wing arms. Sound awful? Good. It's supposed to. But take heart: With the simple advice you'll find in this book, you can eat right and get the sleep and exercise you need to excel academically and creatively.