Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

EBooks available to read online:

The Abusive Personality

The Abusive Personality

This book provides an innovative framework for understanding and treating intimate partner violence. Integrating a variety of theoretical and empirical perspectives, the author demonstrates that male abusiveness is more than just a learned pattern of behavior--it is the outgrowth of a particular personality configuration. 

Unclenching Our Fists: Abusive men on the journey to non-violence

Unclenching Our Fists: Abusive men on the journey to non-violence

This book presents collection of stories of domestic violence perpetrators who have stopped being abusive. Includes first-person stories and photographs of men who worked on themselves over years in violence intervention programs and discussion of stages of accountability and behavioral change. Includes chapter for women in abusive relationships trying to assess whether their partners are capable of making needed changes.

Respectful Relationships

Respectful Relationships

We all have our own needs at different times within relationships, and it is important to give and take in terms of these needs and to show each other respect. Everyone has the right to feel safe, to be treated fairly, and to be valued and accepted for who they are. This book presents advice for young people on how to develop skills to negotiate relationship needs respectfully and safely in partner relationships, friendships and family relationships. Issues addressed include peer pressure and teen friendships; dating pressures and expectations; domestic violence and abusive relationships

Family Violence and Men of Color

Family Violence and Men of Color

This book includes chapters entitled; Intimate partner violence and recidivism following interventions with men who batter; El hombre noble buscando balance: the noble man searching for balance; Fire and firewater:co-occurring clinical treatment model for domestic violence, substance abuse, and trauma; Healing and confronting the African American male who batters;African-American men who batter: a community-centered approach to prevention and intervention;  A postcolonial perspective on domestic violence in Indian country; He Waka Tapu : working together for the well-being of family; Asian-American domestic violence : a critical psychohistorical perspective; Asian men and violence.

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library

Books on abusive relationships can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
​HV6626 This section focuses on the sociological view of abusive relationships
HQ535  This section focuses on abusive relationships within the context of family and marriage
RC569  This section focuses on the psychological aspect of an abuser
When Men Batter Women

When Men Batter Women

Using the stories of several couples in their study, the authors look at the dynamics of abusive relationships, refuting prevalent myths. Never underestimating the inherent risk or danger involved, the authors discuss how women in their study group prepared themselves to leave an abusive relationship, where a battered woman can get help, and how she can keep herself safe.

The Abusive Personality: violence and control in intimate relationships

The Abusive Personality: violence and control in intimate relationships

Physical violence may be the most overt manifestation of relationship abuse, but maltreatment of intimate partners takes many other forms as well. This book explores the nature of male abusiveness by focusing on the development of a particular personality constellation--one that is easily threatened, jealous, and fearful, and that masks these emotions with anger and demands for control. 

Battle Cries: Black Women and Intimate Partner Abuse

Battle Cries: Black Women and Intimate Partner Abuse

This book contains interviews with forty women to examine how African-American women contend with intimate partner abuse, and it looks at the extent of domestic violence against African-American women.

Coercive Control: the entrapment of women in personal life

Coercive Control: the entrapment of women in personal life

In millions of abusive relationships, men use a largely unidentified form of subjugation that more closely resembles kidnapping or indentured servitude than assault.  This book refers to this pattern of manipulative behaviors as coercive control.  Despite its great achievements, domestic violence interventions have failed to improve women's long-term safety in relationships or to hold perpetrators accountable because the singular focus on physical violence against women masks the reality of these other abusive manipulative relationships.

Getting Out: Life Stories of Women Who Left Abusive Men

Getting Out: Life Stories of Women Who Left Abusive Men

Getting Out tells how sixteen women gather the courage to leave an abusive relationship for good. This book recounts not only the stories of their abuse but also the women's life histories leading up to the battering - and the resources they drew upon to escape. 

Journeys: Resilience and Growth for Survivors of Intimate Partner Abuse

Journeys: Resilience and Growth for Survivors of Intimate Partner Abuse

This book focuses on the topic of the resiliency of long-term (over 5 years) survivors of intimate partner violence and abuse. Drawing on participant observation research and interviews with women years after the end of their abusive relationships, the author shares the factors that facilitated these women's success in gaining inner strength and personal transformation. 

Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts

Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts

This book concentrates on the various forms of domestic abuse against women and its occurrence and manifestations within different contexts, it argues that gender is centrally implicated in the unique factors that shape violence across all these areas. Individual chapters outline the experiences of: mothers, older women, women with religious affiliations, refugee women, rural women, aboriginal women, women in same-sex relationships, and women with intellectual disabilities. 

The Battered Woman Syndrome

The Battered Woman Syndrome

With a focus on culture and ethnicity, this data details the experiences of foreign women who either live in their country of origin or the U.S.