Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

Videos available to watch online:

You will be prompted to log in with your student G# and password

Ebooks available to read online:

Eating Disorders:  a parent's guide

Eating Disorders: a parent's guide

This book is written by experienced clinicians and will help you understand some of the more common reasons why problems arise with your child's eating behavior and will give you advice on what you and others can do to manage the situation. 

Eating Disorders in Sport

Eating Disorders in Sport

In this book, the authors draw on their clinical experience to discuss how to identify, manage, treat, and prevent eating disorders in sport participants. They examine the clinical conditions related to eating problems and give special attention to the specific gender and sport-related factors that can negatively influence the eating habits of athletes.  They also discuss identification of participants with disordered eating by reviewing symptoms and how they manifest in sport.

Eating Disorders and Obesity : a counselor's guide to prevention and treatment

Eating Disorders and Obesity : a counselor's guide to prevention and treatment

This book provides a framework for the assessment, treatment, and prevention of eatingdisorders and obesity. Focusing on best practices and offering a range of current techniques, leaders in the field examine these life-threatening disorders and propose treatment options for clients of all ages. 

Beating Eating Disorders Step by Step : a self-help guide for recovery

Beating Eating Disorders Step by Step : a self-help guide for recovery

People living with eating disorders find it hard to take the step of choosing recovery, often because the disorder has developed as a way of 'coping' with problems or stresses in the their life. This book outlines new and positive ways of dealing with eating disorders for people living with eating disorders and their families. 

Skinny Boy: a young man's battle and triumph over anorexia

Skinny Boy: a young man's battle and triumph over anorexia

This book describes how a young man overcame this often fatal disorder, normally associated with young women, that kills thousands of young people each year. It also offers therapists, sufferers, and their families with a powerful new tool to help them triumph in the battle over self.

Eating Disorders in Males

Eating Disorders in Males

Eating disorders are less common in males than in females, occurring generally 10 times more frequently in women than in men. This book reviews research on the epidemiology, clinical features, risk factors, weight and shape concerns, body dissatisfaction and a particular male anxiety on muscle mass on the topic of eating disorders in males.

Conquering Eating Disorders : how family communication heals

Conquering Eating Disorders : how family communication heals

The authors, a licensed psychologist and group psychotherapist, and a dietician with thirty years of experience, bridge the gap between the statistics and the real-life issues of eating disorders to help teens and parents gain the communication skills necessary to support the healing process. In this book you will you hear directly from teens struggling with eating disorders and get expert advice on how to interpret and respond to what your teen is saying—even when they're not talking.

The Parent's Guide to Eating Disorders : supporting self-esteem, healthy eating, and positive body image at home.

The Parent's Guide to Eating Disorders : supporting self-esteem, healthy eating, and positive body image at home.

This book is written by a nutritionist that addresses childhood and teenage eating disorders - with an emphasis on home-based recovery.

One Life : hope, healing and inspiration on the path to recovery from eating disorders

One Life : hope, healing and inspiration on the path to recovery from eating disorders

Many people with an eating disorder also suffer from low self-esteem, depression and anxiety. Eating disorders such an Anorexia Nervosa and Bulimia are maladaptive coping mechanisms, and recovery requires the learning of new, healthy coping skills. This book is a positive and inspirational first person account of one girl's path to recovery. The book boldly details her eleven-week stay in a residential eating disorder clinic - showing her progress from near-death on admission to a full recovery on departure. 

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library

Books on eating disorder can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
RC552.E18  This section is focused on the psychological and medical aspects of eating disorders
RC569.5      This section is focused on the psychological and medical aspects of excercise addiction disorders
RJ506.E18  This section contains books on how to treat eating disorders in children
Bulimia/Anorexia: the binge/purge cycle and self-starvation

Bulimia/Anorexia: the binge/purge cycle and self-starvation

Bulimarexia: The Binge/Purge Cycle provides important facts on adolescent danger signals, socialization and the family, the challenges of the college years, pros and cons of drug therapy, and nutritional counseling. 

Getting Over Overeating for Teens : a workbook to transform your relationship with food using CBT, mindfulness, and intuitive eating

Getting Over Overeating for Teens : a workbook to transform your relationship with food using CBT, mindfulness, and intuitive eating

This book is written by a family therapist and eating disorder specialist.  It strives to help teens challenge their own thinking and transform their relationship to food, giving them the skills they need to manage their emotions and find the comfort they seek in life without overeating.

The Truth About Exercize Addiction

The Truth About Exercize Addiction

Designed for individuals concerned about their workout habits, personal trainers, family and friends of those with a problem, as well as working mental health professionals treating exercise addicts, [this book] provides an easy-to-read, illuminating glimpse into the rising trend of over-exercise.  The author illustrates the symptoms and dangers of obsessive exercise with true stories from sufferers, all while exploring why and how such a seemingly healthy behavior morphs into a dangerous means of self-destruction. 

Eating Disorders in Athletes

Eating Disorders in Athletes

This book presents research and applied practice to address all of the key issues relating to sport and eating disorders. It looks at the underlying factors behind the development of disordered eating and considers evaluation, diagnosis and treatment across a wide range of sports.  It assesses the various types of treatment available and the practicalities of implementing treatment programs. 

The Parent's Guide to Childhood Eating Disorders

The Parent's Guide to Childhood Eating Disorders

This book emphasizes a nutritional approach to treatment, including early intervention and the importance of establishing healthy attitudes toward food at a young age,

Abject Relations: everyday worlds of anorexia

Abject Relations: everyday worlds of anorexia

This book presents an alternative approach to anorexia, long considered the epitome of a Western obsession with individualism, beauty, self-control, and autonomy. Through detailed ethnographic investigations, the author looks at the heart of what it means to live with anorexia on a daily basis. 

Dying to Please: anorexia, treatment and recovery

Dying to Please: anorexia, treatment and recovery

With this second edition, the author, a recovered anorexic, draws upon her own experience with the disorder and with treatment, and has combined this with extensive research to produce a comprehensive account of the symptoms, causes and treatments of anorexia nervosa. It includes a directory of organizations for treatment of eating disorders and resources for information and referral.

Holy Hunger: a woman's journey from food addiction to spiritual fulfillment

Holy Hunger: a woman's journey from food addiction to spiritual fulfillment

The author describes a childhood darkened by the repressive shadows of her alcoholic father and her emotionally reclusive mother, whose demands for excellence, poise, and self-control drove her to develop an insatiable hunger.
When the family urged her father into treatment, the author recognized her own addiction and embarked on the path to recovery by discovering the spiritual hunger beneath her craving for food.