Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Tough Topics to Discuss

This guide offers resources for topics that may be difficult to discuss. It includes books, ebooks, videos, college resources and community links.

Ebooks available to read online:

Estimating the Incidence of Sexual Assualt

Estimating the Incidence of Sexual Assualt

This report examines issues such as the legal definitions in use by the states for rape crimes, best methods for representing the definitions in survey instruments so that their meaning is clear to respondents, and best methods for obtaining as complete reporting as possible of these crimes in surveys, including methods whereby respondents may report anonymously. The effects or rape are devastating, extending beyond the initial victimization to consequences such as unwanted pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections, sleep and eating disorders, and other emotional and physical problems. Understanding the frequency and context under which rape and sexual assault are committed is vital in directing resources for law enforcement and support for victims.

The Compassionate-mind Guide to Recovering From Trauma and PTSD : using compassion-focused therapy to overcome flashbacks, shame, guilt, and fear

The Compassionate-mind Guide to Recovering From Trauma and PTSD : using compassion-focused therapy to overcome flashbacks, shame, guilt, and fear

This book helps readers reduce the sense of threat they constantly feel and develop a fuller understanding of their reactions to trauma by cultivating compassion for themselves and others. The practical exercises based in compassion-focused therapy (CFT) that are offered in this book help readers gradually confront and overcome trauma-related behaviors. This approach invites readers who have undergone a traumatic experience to develop compassion for themselves and others, a sense of safety, and the ability to self-soothe when difficult memories or emotions arise.

Yes Means Yes!: visions of female sexual power & a world without rape

Yes Means Yes!: visions of female sexual power & a world without rape

This book contains a variety of perspectives and experiences focused on the theory that educating all people to value female sexuality and pleasure leads to viewing women differently, and ending rape. Yes Means Yes has radical and far-reaching effects: from teaching men to treat women as collaborators and not conquests, encouraging men and women that women can enjoy sex instead of being shamed for it, and ultimately, that our children can inherit a world where rape is rare and swiftly punished.

Rape, Incest, Battery : women writing out the pain

Rape, Incest, Battery : women writing out the pain

The author taught a journal-writing class at a women's shelter and found that the women she helped to express their pain, rage, and frustration underwent a catharsis of the soul, but, more importantly, understood the heroic enterprise of regaining self-power.  This book is an anthology of writings from victims to celebrate the images of heroic women fighting for their rights, risking their lives, rescuing their children from a violent family life, testifying, speaking out, and seeking justice when they are beaten, raped, or otherwise violated. 

Sharing Our Stories of Survival : Native women surviving violence

Sharing Our Stories of Survival : Native women surviving violence

A general introduction to the social and legal issues involved in acts of violence against Native women, this book's contributors are lawyers, social workers, social scientists, writers, poets, and victims. In the U.S. Native women are more likely than women from any other group to suffer violence, from rape and battery to more subtle forms of abuse, and Sharing Our Stories of Survival explores the causes and consequences of such behavior. The stories and case-studies presented here are often painful and raw, and the statistics are overwhelmingly grim; but a countervailing theme also runs through this extremely informative volume: Many of the women who appear in these pages are survivors, often strengthened by their travails, and the violence examined here is human violence, meaning that it can be changed, if only with much effort and education. The first step is to lay out the truth for all to see, and that is the purpose accomplished by this book.

Campus Sexual Assault : college women respond

Campus Sexual Assault : college women respond

The author focuses attention on the post-sexual assault experiences of twenty-six college women. She reframes conversations about sexual violence and student agency on American college campuses by drawing insight directly from the stories of how survivors responded individually to attacks, as well as how and why peers, family members, and school, medical, and civil authorities were (or were not) engaged in addressing the crimes. The author weaves together women's narratives to show the women not as victims per se, but as individuals with the power to overcome these traumatic experiences.

Books available at Evelyn S. Field Library

Books on surviving rape and sexual assault can be found in the library collection upstairs in the following sections:
HV6561 - HV6626 This section contains books about survival stories and therapies 
LB2345  This section focuses on sexual assault on campus
RC560  This section focuses on the definitions of abuse, types of rape and clinical treatments.
UB418 - UB783  This section focuses on the military
Surviving Sexual Violence

Surviving Sexual Violence

Explains the range of different sexual violations, from harassment in the workplace and marital rape to sexual violence in the military and childhood sexual abuse; and offers tips from experts in the field on various modes of recovery including mind-body practices, psychoeducation, spirituality/religion, and journaling.

Treating the Trauma of Rape : cognitive-behavioral therapy for PTSD

Treating the Trauma of Rape : cognitive-behavioral therapy for PTSD

This book provides a step-by-step guide to proven brief therapy techniques for treating traumatized women. Filling an urgent need of front-line practitioners working within managed care guidelines, the book includes numerous case examples illustrating sensitive and effective information gathering and intervention, as well as explanations of how to cope with common problems and complications in treatment.

Journeys : resilience and growth for survivors of intimate partner abuse

Journeys : resilience and growth for survivors of intimate partner abuse

The book focuses on the desperately understudied topic of the resiliency of long-term (over 5 years) survivors of intimate partner violence and abuse. Drawing on participant observation research and interviews with women years after the end of their abusive relationships, author Susan L. Miller shares these women's trials and tribulations, and expounds on the factors that facilitated these women's success in gaining inner strength and personal transformation.

Sexual Assault In the Military : a guide for victims and families

Sexual Assault In the Military : a guide for victims and families

The authors discuss the current state of affairs, the systems in place, and the supports available to victims and families. They provide documents that outline how reporting can and should take place, how cases should be handled through the military justice system, and how and where victims can access resources, including counseling.

Sexual Assault In the U.S. Military : the battle within America's Armed Forces

Sexual Assault In the U.S. Military : the battle within America's Armed Forces

This book documents the problems with reporting and prosecuting sexual assault complaints within our armed forces, examines the current policy and laws to identify what changes are needed, and analyzes recent efforts to prevent sexual assault. Author Rosemarie Skaine introduces the subject with a historical perspective that covers women, men, gays and lesbians, and non-military personnel as the subjects of sexual assault and provides readers with clear definitions of sexual harassment and sexual assault. The chapters explain how sexual assault negatively affects the military's performance as a whole, thereby serving to undermine national security; and covers preventative approaches and legislation intended to change the current military culture. 

Campus Sexual Assault : college women respond

Campus Sexual Assault : college women respond

The author focuses attention on the post-sexual assault experiences of twenty-six college women. She reframes conversations about sexual violence and student agency on American college campuses by drawing insight directly from the stories of how survivors responded individually to attacks, as well as how and why peers, family members, and school, medical, and civil authorities were (or were not) engaged in addressing the crimes. The author weaves together women's narratives to show the women not as victims per se, but as individuals with the power to overcome these traumatic experiences.