Ask us!

Phi Theta Kappa Honors in Action

A research guide for the Honors in Action project completed by members of Phi Theta Kappa.

(2019-2020)

Research question: What effect does climate change have on mental health?

(Based on Honors Study Topic Transformations: Acknowledging, Assessing, and Achieving Change)

To target government websites, add site:.gov to your Google search.
Try the Directory of Open Access Journals for peer-reviewed articles freely available online: https://doaj.org/
If RVCC does not have access to full text of a needed article, use Interlibrary Loan to get it. Ask Janelle or another librarian if you need help.
Search the Internet, use Wikipedia, or utilize one of the library's Research Starter databases to learn more about your topic and look for synonyms and related terms to use in your searches.
Other keywords to try/ideas to focus on (presented in alphabetical order, not ranked by usefulness):

"Adverse effects"	"Mental disorder"
"Affective disorders"	"Natural disasters"
Anxiety	"Psychosocial Factors"
"Climate change prevention and control"	Psychiatry
Depression	Physiology
"Disaster planning"	"Public health"
"Global temperature changes"	Stress
"Greenhouse effect"	Suicide
"Mental illness"	Vulnerability

Recommended databases:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary Gale database with the majority of content from full-text, scholarly journals.
Academic OneFile has indexing of over 13,000 journals covering multiple research subjects including the physical sciences, business, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. The majority of the journals are peer reviewed and many articles are available in full-text. This database includes full-text for many cited articles in CINAHL and ERIC plus includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC. It also includes key, scholarly journals published in Spanish and other languages.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database that provides access to many of the top nursing and allied health literature available.
It contains nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association with many full-text articles. It also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters covering topics including nursing, biomedicine, and consumer health.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database the provides full-text materials in applicable areas of environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science plus more.
It contains full text from more than 900 journals, almost 200 ebooks and it contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888.
Gale Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a Gale database that provides access to indexed scholarly journals and magazines with an emphasis placed on full-text access to articles cited in PsycINFO.
All fields of psychology are covered and as well as all major paradigms including behavioral, cognitive, psychoanalytic, biological, and developmental.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database providing scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
It covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full text for nearly 13,000 records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, scholarly database containing digitized back issues of academic journals, books, primary sources, and current issues of journals.
It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals on a variety of subjects including history, science, literature, music, philosophy, world culture and business.
RVOneSearch This link opens in a new window
RVOneSearch provides access to most of the information contained in many of the library's databases plus the RVCC library catalog.
It is a great place to begin your research with select key words to obtain a list of articles available throughout multiple databases as well as books, ebooks and websites accessible through RVCC’s library. Many limiters are available to modify your search such as full-text only, peer reviewed (scholarly), specific date ranges, or a specific database or source type.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This Elsevier database provides mostly full-text access to over 14 million scientific, technical and health publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.
Some articles have citation and abstract information only. This is a good source for scholarly articles in nursing, psychology and the sciences.