Ask us!

Phi Theta Kappa Honors in Action

A research guide for the Honors in Action project completed by members of Phi Theta Kappa.

(2019-2020)

Research question: How can artificial intelligence help solve climate change?

(Based on Honors Study Topic Transformations: Acknowledging, Assessing, and Achieving Change)

To target government websites, add site:.gov to your Google search.
Try the Directory of Open Access Journals for peer-reviewed articles freely available online: https://doaj.org/
If RVCC does not have access to full text of a needed article, use Interlibrary Loan to get it. Ask Janelle or another librarian if you need help.
Search the Internet, use Wikipedia, or utilize one of the library's Research Starter databases to learn more about your topic and look for synonyms and related terms to use in your searches.
Other keywords to try/ideas to focus on (presented in alphabetical order, not ranked by usefulness):

Anthropogenic	Meterology
"Biological diversity"	"Neural network"
"Climate change mitigation"	Rainfall
Environment	"Smart cities"
Farming	"Smart technology"
Forecast	Sustainability
Forests	Technology
"Global temperature changes"	Weather

Recommended databases:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary Gale database with the majority of content from full-text, scholarly journals.
Academic OneFile has indexing of over 13,000 journals covering multiple research subjects including the physical sciences, business, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. The majority of the journals are peer reviewed and many articles are available in full-text. This database includes full-text for many cited articles in CINAHL and ERIC plus includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC. It also includes key, scholarly journals published in Spanish and other languages.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database providing access to scholarly business, management, economics, and supply chain journals, many with full-text access.
The collection also includes non-scholarly publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales. It includes access to over 60,000 videos from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency with footage from 1930 to the present, and is updated monthly.
Environmental Studies & Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
This Gale database provides mostly full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests addressing issues such as global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, and agronomy. This is a good resource for research in the environmental and biological studies as well as research into corporate responsibility and policy.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database the provides full-text materials in applicable areas of environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science plus more.
It contains full text from more than 900 journals, almost 200 ebooks and it contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888.
RVOneSearch This link opens in a new window
RVOneSearch provides access to most of the information contained in many of the library's databases plus the RVCC library catalog.
It is a great place to begin your research with select key words to obtain a list of articles available throughout multiple databases as well as books, ebooks and websites accessible through RVCC’s library. Many limiters are available to modify your search such as full-text only, peer reviewed (scholarly), specific date ranges, or a specific database or source type.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides mostly full-text for scientific journals in physics, engineering, transportation, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, computers, telecommunication and the military.
Coverage dating back to 1986 helpful to students studying both the applied and general sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This Elsevier database provides mostly full-text access to over 14 million scientific, technical and health publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.
Some articles have citation and abstract information only. This is a good source for scholarly articles in nursing, psychology and the sciences.