Ask us!
Social Policy and Politics - HMNS 207 - Gutshall-Seidman
Finding Career Information
Search for your desired career in one of these online resources to learn about salary, work conditions, training or education needed, job outlook and more.
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowThis Facts On File resource provides career and job specific information with industry and professions articles, school planning resources, and skills and career advice.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
- O*NET OnLineProvides data-based information on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Details on the worker characteristics, worker requirements, experience requirements, occupational requirements, workforce characteristics, and occupation-specific information are provided for each occupation in the database.
Additional information
These databases and eBooks contain additional details about careers, especially those in social services or social work.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowThis is a ProQuest database useful to both students and instructors to research most technical topics, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
- Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides access to professional and popular journals, newspaper articles, and other resources in the fields of careers and vocations, career counseling, and various areas of technical education (including engineering and allied health among others).
eBooks
Access these eBooks by logging in with G# and password.
101 careers in social work
The second edition of this popular guide to social work careers has been completely updated and expanded to reflect current accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements, along with new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Affordable Care Act.
Careers in mental health : opportunities in psychology, counseling, and social work
Careers in Mental Health introduces undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions. It contains essential career advice for anyone considering an advanced degree in one of the "helping" professions within mental health.
Social Work: the Basics
An insightful introduction to the often misrepresented world of social work. This accessible book presents a broad view of contemporary social work, exploring its roots and its possible future.
Social Work Fields of Practice : Historical Trends, Professional Issues, and Future Opportunities
A contemporary look at social work practice and the many career possibilities--with detailed coverage of important new and emerging trends.