Ask us!

Social Policy and Politics - HMNS207 - Gutshall-Seidman

Background Info

Try the following library databases instead of or in addition to doing a Google search to learn the name and basics of your policy or case.

Britannica Online
Encyclopedic resource with full-text, non-scholarly articles.
Articles are from Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and Britannica Book of the Year. Great for overview information, access to current statistics, a world atlas and current news plus links to primary sources such as world treaties, doctrines and official documents.
Credo Reference
If you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.

This is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.
CQ Researcher
A database of full-text, non-scholarly articles with coverage of a wide variety of current issues written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked to provide an introduction to a subject or topic.
Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. This is a great resource for topic selection and obtaining applicable terms or key words to use when performing further research.
Points of View Reference Center
This EBSCO database provides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
It also offers related images and supplementary research guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating. It contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). This is a good resource to help with writing or debating an effective argument on a topic..

Finding Policy Legislation in Hein Online

Hein Online
HeinOnline contains more than 160 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical and government documents, and more than 2,600 law-related periodicals. In addition to academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 160 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals.

Hein Online includes legislation and related documents. Knowing the official name of a policy will help you search in Hein Online. Typically you can find the official policy name by searching the Internet first. For example, if you are interested in Section 8 housing policies, the name for that policy is "Housing Choice Voucher Program." (It is called "Section 8" because the program policy is in section 8 of the Housing Act of 1937 - fun fact!)