Indigenous North America - ANTH203

"The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe...Through these resources, we seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there."

"Decolonize Sports is a multimedia project dedicated to sharing stories in sports and culture from a Native perspective."

A report from the United States Department of the Interior covering the 408 boarding schools operated or supported by the federal government between 1819 and 1969.

"The First Nations Development Institute improves economic conditions for Native Americans through direct financial grants, technical assistance & training, and advocacy & policy." Their Knowledge Center includes books, webinars, videos, and more on topics like environmental and economic justice.

Hidden Literacies brings together leading scholars of historical literacy to investigate the surprising, often neglected roles reading and writing have played in the lives of marginalized Americans.

ICT is "an independent, nonprofit news enterprise... that serves Indigenous communities with news, entertainment, and opinion."

"Established in 1990 within the United States, IEN was formed by grassroots Indigenous peoples and individuals to address environmental and economic justice issues (EJ). IEN’s activities include building the capacity of Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities."

"Welcome to Indigenous Foundations, an information resource on key topics relating to the histories, politics, and cultures of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. This website was developed to support students in their studies, and to provide instructors, researchers and the broader public with a place to begin exploring topics that relate to Aboriginal peoples, cultures, and histories. Indigenous Foundations was developed by the First Nations Studies Program at the University of British Columbia, located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Musqueam people."

An online resource from Canadian Geographic that provides information on First Nations, Métis, and Inuit peoples.

"In 2005 the Canadian Plains Research Centre, University of Regina Press created the single, largest, educational publishing project in Saskatchewan's history, the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan... Within this encyclopedia were a significant number of resources that documented Saskatchewan’s numerous Indigenous Peoples’ histories, significant figures and events."

Create a free account to "check out" books for a few days or hours. Use this site to track down references from other sources you find.

Digitized newsletters, event posters, flyers and other printed materials from Michigan's indigenous tribes and community organizations. Significant materials include Turtle Talk, Indian Talk, Council Drum News, and numerous powwow flyers.

"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs."

"Providing national leadership to end violence against American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian women by lifting up the collective voices of grassroots advocates and offering culturally grounded resources, technical assistance and training, and policy development to strengthen tribal sovereignty."

"The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition (NABS) is dedicated to advocating for Native peoples impacted by U.S. Indian boarding schools. We seek truth through education and research, justice through activism and policy advocacy, and healing through programs and traditional gatherings."

"Since 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Native American tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation."

"Native Appropriations is a forum for discussing representations of Native peoples, including stereotypes, cultural appropriation, news, activism, and more."

"The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations."

Native Hope's mission is to "address the injustice done to Native Americans. We dismantle barriers through storytelling and impactful programs to bring healing and inspire hope."

Native Land is a Canadian non-profit app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages.

"Native Languages of the Americas is a Minnesota non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation and promotion of endangered American Indian languages."

Native News Online delivers important daily news that affects the lives of Native Americans nationwide. Publisher and Editor Levi Rickert is an award-winning American Indian journalist and tribal citizen of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation.

"We are a National Indigenous Organization representing the political voice of Indigenous women, girls and gender-diverse people in Canada, inclusive of First Nations on and off reserve, status and non-status, disenfranchised, Métis and Inuit. We were founded on the collective goal to enhance, promote and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of Indigenous women within their respective communities and Canada societies."

Includes brief information about some nations and tribes relevant to this course: Seminole, Lenape, Shawnee, Choctaw, Pawnee.

This database includes agreements between tribal nations and the United States (1778-1886) published in the 1904 work “Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties” (Volume II), compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. The volume is public domain. Links to Kappler’s original text and digitized treaties held at the National Archives can also be found throughout the site.

"With a talk that encourages hope, love, empowerment and igniting a new way of learning together as a nation, Tamara lays bare the world of violence impacting indigenous women."