Ask us!

Pathways to College Success - SCCS 101 - Passion Project

Other Databases for General Information

Newspaper Articles

Newspaper articles can contain descriptions of a specific event when a professional in your field of interest did something noteworthy! Examples of this include concerts, art gallery shows, innovative projects, or heroic work by first responders.

Proquest Newsstand (US Newsstream) This link opens in a new window
Includes The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and Newsday.
This is a ProQuest database entitled U.S. Newsstream that enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. It provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Users can search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields.

Magazine, Trade, and Peer reviewed Articles

Trade publications are written specifically for people who work in a specific field. Use the filter options on your search results to limit to only Magazines or Trade Publications.

Peer reviewed articles - also called scholarly articles - are research studies written by scholars or experts in a field to inform other experts about their research findings. Select the "Peer reviewed" or "Academic Journals" or "Scholarly Journals" checkbox when searching to limit your results to articles published in peer reviewed journals.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile has indexing of over 13,000 journals covering multiple research subjects including the physical sciences, business, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. The majority of the journals are peer reviewed and many articles are available in full-text. This database includes full-text for many cited articles in CINAHL and ERIC plus includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC. It also includes key, scholarly journals published in Spanish and other languages.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Subjects include major science disciplines such as biology, chemistry, and physics as well as engineering, psychology, religion and philosophy. It provides access to full text content for many scholarly journals, citations/abstracts for more than 1,000 titles and access to more than 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Subjects include business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, books, newspapers, magazines, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, working papers, blogs, podcasts, websites, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, video and audio resources. Some articles have citation information only.

What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles?

To find scholarly journal articles for your research paper, you need to know some features that distinguish scholarly articles from news, magazine, and general webpage articles. These differences exist whether you find the articles through an internet search or a library database.

Comparison of characteristics of scholarly and popular articles
What to Know	Scholarly Journal Articles	Popular Articles (news, magazines, webpages)
Who writes them?	Experts in a field Researchers Scholars or Professors	Reporters or journalists Staff writers Free-lance writers
Who reads them?	Researchers and Experts Scholars (including students) People with knowledge of the topic	General public People who do not have in-depth knowledge of the topic
What do they look like?	"Serious" looking - mostly text, some charts, graphs, or tables Fewer advertisements or illustrations Generally longer articles Articles online or in databases are often in PDF format to appear similar to a print journal See how scholarly articles are organized	Glossy, color photographs Commercial advertisements Easy-to-read or eye-catching layout Articles online often have hyperlinks to other relevant articles throughout the text
What are they about?	Original research studies or experiments In-depth analysis of a specific topic or theory Critical analysis (criticism)	Entertainment and popular culture Current events and news Opinion pieces or articles with an emotional slant
Who reviews them?	Peer reviewers - an editorial board of experts in the discipline	Staff editors and publishers
What are they used for?	Finding current research about a specific aspect of your topic Learning what the experts say about your topic and using it to support your thesis	Broad overviews of current topics Information about popular culture Introduction to an unfamiliar topic
What are some examples?

A Jail to End All Jails
Written by Jarrod Shanahan and a co-writer, Jack Norton for Urban Omnibus, a website from the Architectural League of New York City. Although still a fairly sophisticated article, the language is less complex than a scholarly article, the structure is less formal, and it lacks other defining characteristics of a scholarly article so can be used for comparison.
Rebranding Mass Incarceration: The Lippman Commission and Carceral Devolution in New York City.
Authors: Kurti, Zhandarka and Shanahan, Jarrod
Source: Social Justice. 2018, Vol. 45 Issue 2/3/2019, p25-49. 25p.
more...less...
The second author is a doctoral candidate who also rights for websites about jails in NYC.