Ask us!
Pathways to College Success - SCCS 101 - Passion Project
Finding College- and Career-specific Resources
There are library databases and other websites where you can find high-quality, reliable information sources that are specific to college majors and careers. Use these resources to find you college- and career-specific sources for your Passion Project
Library Databases (use G# & password off-campus)
- Facts on File This link opens in a new windowThis is a home page for Facts On File resources consisting of research databases, eBook collections and other online reference materials for multiple subject areas in history, career choices, science, literature, geography, health and films.Many of these links are also listed as a separate database such as Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center and the Curriculum Resource Center.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowThis is a ProQuest database useful to both students and instructors to research most technical topics, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.Users can find access to trade publications such as Marketing, Journal of Nursing Education, Physical Therapy, Logistics Today, Accounting Horizons, and Agricultural Research. Vocational publications also provide users with occupation-focused titles such as Marketing Week, Aviation Week & Space Technology, Broadcasting & Cable, Nursing, Law & Order, Chemist & Druggist, Electronic Engineering Times, and many more as well as access to ebooks and career advice blogs.
- Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides access to professional and popular journals, newspaper articles, and other resources in the fields of careers and vocations, career counseling, and various areas of technical education (including engineering and allied health among others).Not limited to career and vocational literature, this database also includes professional literature for many technical and medical technology fields.
Internet Resources
- O*NET OnLineProvides data-based information on almost 1,000 occupations covering the entire U.S. economy. Details on the worker characteristics, worker requirements, experience requirements, occupational requirements, workforce characteristics, and occupation-specific information are provided for each occupation in the database.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
- Career CoachA free online search tool that lets you explore hundreds of potential careers. Select a career that suits your interests and learn about educational requirements, job prospects and wages – all localized to the tri-state region. You’ll also get to view current job postings in the area and develop your own resume.
Career Guide Ebooks
Login with your G# and password if prompted. These career guides describe specific jobs you can attain in the field.
- Last Updated: Oct 28, 2024 3:19 PM
- URL: https://library.raritanval.edu/passion-project
- Print Page