Ask us!
Modern Latin American History - HIST239 - Primary Sources
Primary sources available in the library or on the Internet relevant to Latin American History.
Research Starter Databases
In these databases, you should start with a broad search - just the name of your country or broad topic - or use the browse options to avoid searching altogether. Most of the articles in these databases will not be primary sources - these databases are designed to help you develop ideas, not necessarily find sources you will cite.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.If you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that broadly covers the important issues of the modern world integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics in a single search.The database focuses on broad issues as well as targeted issues including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the Syrian civil war, genetically modified foods, internet control and security, and privacy rights. Updated daily with more than 660 geographically diverse full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals for a global view.
- World History In Context This link opens in a new windowA Gale resource that provides a media rich overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people.Covered topics reach back to the ancient world and extend to today’s current headlines to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. This site places an emphasis on images and video with access to more than 1,700 primary source documents as well as reference materials such as the Dictionary of the Middle Ages, Gale Encyclopedia of World History, Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, and the Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. It also contains more than 2,000 maps and atlases, images, videos, and audio selections, from sources like archival newsreels, Critical Past, The History Channel, BBC News, and NPR with full-text coverage of periodicals and journals.
Newspapers
Use more specific searches as you narrow down your topic. Combine terms with the word AND to focus on articles that discuss multiple aspects of your broad topic. Use quotation marks around a concept that has multiple words.
- Example: Ecuador AND "drug cartel"
- InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides full-text access to over 2,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Users can search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields.
- New York Times Digital This link opens in a new windowAccess the New York Times online for 24/7 individual mobile access to nytimes.com, including the historical archives back to 1851. Individual accounts are available for all faculty, students, and staff at Raritan Valley Community College.Instructional Resources for Faculty- In addition to campus-wide access to nytimes.com,RVCC has campus-wide access to the value-added InEducation academic resources available at www.nytimesineducation.com Please create your account and log in to access the features available from NYTimes In Education.
- Proquest Newsstand (US Newsstream) This link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database contains news content including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.This is a ProQuest database entitled U.S. Newsstream that enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. It provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Scholarly sources
Most scholarly journal articles and books are secondary sources - an analysis of the topic developed by someone who did not experience it firsthand.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary, scholarly database containing digitized back issues of academic journals, books, primary sources, and current issues of journals.It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals on a variety of subjects including history, science, literature, music, philosophy, world culture and business.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to peer-reviewed, academic content on the subjects of digital humanities and social science.It contains full-text access to scholarly journals and ebooks from non-profit, scholarly publishers including university presses and societies. It covers topics in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- War & Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides access to mostly full-text articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering conflicts and their causes, impact and perception on a global scale.It contains articles from journals such as Airport Security Report, Arab Studies Quarterly (ASQ), International Peace Update, Israel Studies, Military Intelligence Professional Bulletin, Naval Aviation News, Social Justice, Terrorism in the United States, and World Affairs. This is a good resource for students researching history, social science and current events and can be researched along with the Gale Military and Intelligence Database and the ProQuest Military database.
- World History Collection This link opens in a new windowA Gale database that provides mostly full-text access to leading scholarly journals and magazines in the field of world history.Some of the titles included are Australian Aboriginal Studies, China Review International, Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation, Historical Studies, Journal of African History, Journal of Southeast Asian Studies, and Latino Leaders. Articles are updated daily and provide balanced coverage of events in world history, both current thinking and established scholarly work.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest collection of ebooks spanning multiple subjects including anthropology, religion, fine arts, language & literature, physical sciences, life sciences, social sciences, medicine, computers, business, engineering & technology, education and history.This database provides the ability to search within book text as well as cite, save and print ebook chapters however there are limits on the number of pages that can be downloaded.
- RVCC Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowThis is access to the complete RVCC library catalog of print books, ebooks and all other electronic sources, audiobooks, periodicals, DVD’s, CD’s, music scores, and websites.Materials can be searched by keyword, title, author, or subject. To search for articles, please use RVOneSearch or a specific database.
- Internet ArchiveAn online library with many free digitized books. Create a free account to "check out" a book.
- Last Updated: Sep 6, 2024 12:33 PM
- URL: https://library.raritanval.edu/hist239
- Print Page
Subjects: American History, Cultural Studies, History, U.S. History, World Civilization
Tags: Primary Sources