It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Latin American History - HIST239 - Primary Sources
Primary sources available in the library or on the Internet relevant to Latin American History.
A Gale multidisciplinary online resource that enables research across the humanities for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for a historical perspective back to the colonial period.
Latin America culture and society are covered from the fifteenth century to the present day. This collection includes primary and secondary documents from libraries around the world with articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, newspapers and periodicals plus multimedia including BBC News and the New York Times video collection.
Select Historical Collections in the top menu to browse, or look for "Historical Newspapers" or "Historical Monographs" in your search results.
An online resource that provides an overview of world history from the mid-15th century to the present with timelines, videos and slideshows, biographies, maps and graphs of historic explorations, empires and kingdoms, and wars plus links to many primary source documents.
It contains timelines, videos and slideshows, biographies, maps and graphs of historic explorations, empires and kingdoms, and wars plus links to many primary source documents such as constitutions and charters, weapons treaties, annexations and territorial agreements, and peace treaties and truces. A good place to search world history topics by region or era.
Perform a keyword search, then select Primary Sources from the tabbed results.
To browse, select Primary Sources and then filter by an appropriate time period or topic.
A Gale resource that provides a media rich overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people. This site places an emphasis on images and video with access to more than 1,700 primary source documents.
Covered topics reach back to the ancient world and extend to today’s current headlines to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. This site places an emphasis on images and video with access to more than 1,700 primary source documents as well as reference materials such as the Dictionary of the Middle Ages, Gale Encyclopedia of World History, Encyclopedia of the Holocaust, and the Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. It also contains more than 2,000 maps and atlases, images, videos, and audio selections, from sources like archival newsreels, Critical Past, The History Channel, BBC News, and NPR with full-text coverage of periodicals and journals.
Perform a keyword search or choose from topics, then select Primary Sources from the list of Content Types on the right.
The Artstor Digital Library provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Perform an advanced search to narrow by time period or geographical location.
All images have comprehensive metadata and all content is rights-cleared for educational use. Images can be found for topics such as anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, and world history.