Modern Latin American History - HIST239 - Primary Sources

From Rice University, a collection that "represent[s] the full range and complexity of a multilingual “Americas” that includes Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present.

This collection out of Yale Law School contains documents in law, history, and diplomacy. Browse by date or search from the home page.

"The Digital Library of Ibero-American Heritage (BDPI) is a project promoted by the Association of National Libraries of Ibero-America (ABINIA) that aims to create a portal that allows access from a single point of consultation to the digital resources of all the Participating libraries." In Spanish.

An initiative of the Spanish government, this online resource includes humanities and social science collections focused on Latin America and the Philippines. In Spanish.

From Duke University, Materials related to Cuban, Dominican and Haitian maritime migration from 1965-1996, including camps at the U.S. Naval Station, Guantánamo Bay, Cuba, 1991-1996.

Search or browse by country or subject to find primary source documents from around the world.

Explore 3-D images of 200 sites on all seven continents. Cyark was founded in 2003 to digitally record, archive and share the world's most significant cultural heritage and ensure that these places continue to inspire wonder and curiosity for decades to come. Narrow by country or theme using the dropdown menus, or use the date range sliders to choose a beginning and/or ending date.

A steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.

A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.

From Northeastern University, "an open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean."

From Tulane University, it provides over 1,800 images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in various countries of the region from the mid-19th century to c. 1910.

Browse or search from the homepage in this portal that provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more from thousands of European archives, libraries and museums

From the University of New Hampshire, "a comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings."

This information deals with human rights in Latin America, with some documents dating from 1964 to 1995. Most of the documents concern El Salvador and Guatemala, but the collection also contains records on Brazil, Nicaragua, Honduras, Chile, and Peru.

"This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean."

From Southern Methodist University, this digital collection portrays the landscape, people, and technology of various countries, including Costa Rica, Peru, Bolivia, El Salvador, and Cuba in the late 19th century.

From the University of Texas, "a collaborative project that preserves and provides digital access to unique archival documents from a network of Latin American partners with an emphasis on collections documenting human rights issues and underrepresented communities."

From the University of Texas at Austin, a collection of resources organized by subject and region.

From Harvard, scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

From NYPL, over 400 images depicting countries and regions of the world ruled by Spain and Portugal.

Digital collections of Hispanic heritage materials from the University of Alicante in Spain. In Spanish.

Links to primary sources for many topics and countries in Latin America, compiled by the library at Christopher Newport University. Some links may only be accessible to students at their university.

This is a subset of the University of Florida Digital Collections with a geographic focus on South America.

Streaming historical video from the Library of Congress.

This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections.

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

Correspondence, project files, subject files, and publications documenting the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970s and 1980s Argentina (out of Duke University).

Digitized cultural heritage collections, including music, maps, iconography, and journals.

Collections from Chile's National Archives.

From the National Security Archive out of George Washington University.

From the National Security Archive out of George Washington University.

Digitized collections from the National Library of Colombia, including maps, music, and photos. In Spanish.

Includes unique primary sources on 17th to 20th-century Colombian history and culture.

The CIA history of the Bay of Pigs operation in 1961, originally classified top secret, based on dozens of interviews with key operatives and officials and hundreds of CIA documents. The four volumes include information never before released.

Since its establishment in August 1991, the Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) has amassed a tremendous collection of archival documents on the Cold War era from the once secret archives of former communist countries.

This site contains links to many resources; be sure the document you use is a primary source or transcription of one, and not a secondary explanation.

From the National Security Archive out of George Washington University.

Digitized resources from the University of Miami.

From the National Security Archive out of George Washington University.

Photographs and related materials generated by the journalist, then known as Deena Boyer, during two trips to Cuba between July 1963 and July 1964.

From the University of Texas at Austin's Latin American Network Information Center, speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996.

The Freedom Flotilla, also known as the Mariel Boatlift, occurred in 1980 after President Carter opened the doors to the United States for hundreds of thousands of Cuban refugees.

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

This collection includes approximately 3,400 pages of documents gathered by researchers and hosted at the Woodrow Wilson Center.

"The CUNY Dominican Studies Institute at The City College of New York has developed digital open-source resources featuring various educational platforms to enhance teaching and learning on Dominican topics."

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. El Caribe has been a constant chronicle of national and international news, both for the Dominican Republic and the broader Caribbean region.

Includes historical documents and papers relating to US-Dominican Republic relations (1903-1904)

From Brown University, "The Opening the Archives Dominican Republic Project makes U.S. government documents available about the Dominican Republic during the Cold War years of the 1960s and 1970s. "

The Grenada Plantation Records consist of manuscript documents from the Lataste Estate, a sugar plantation in Grenada, West Indies, dating from 1737-1845. (from the Library of Congress).

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

From Princeton, over 11,000 digitized items from this activist and solidarity group based in San Francisco, California, which was created in 1978 to support and inform the public about Guatemalan movements for peace and justice, indigenous rights, and labor rights.

These digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation.

From the Library of Congress, this collection consists of individual items and small groups of Haitian documents mostly from the 18th and 19th centuries.

From the Marxists Internet Archive: History Archive.

From Brown University, items that provide a running narrative of the Haitian Revolution.

Digital Collections from the University of the West Indies include journals, newspapers, maps, and photographs.

"Civil status registers, personnel registers, photographs, newspapers" and more from the Territorial Archives of Martinique. In French.

Digital images of archival collections relating to Sonora, Mexico that are located at three Arizona repositories: the University of Arizona Library Special Collections; the Arizona Historical Society-Tucson; and the Arizona State Library, Archives, and Public Records.

Choose from several portals into digital collections from the National Library of Mexico. In Spanish.

This free online database, hosted by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, is one of the most extensive collections in the world of scanned Mexican newspapers.

This site contains links to many resources; be sure the document you use is a primary source or transcription of one, and not a secondary explanation.

Postcards of locations and events related to US military involvement in the Mexican Revolution.

This digital collection contains many items related to the Mexican Revolution, including 20 photographs of Cananea, Mexico, located just across the Arizona border showing striking miners, men with guns, demonstrations, the mine site, and American personnel.

From the Getty Research Institute, photos from the mid-19th to early 20th century.

Access several digitized collections, including newspapers and images, from the National Library of Panama. In Spanish.

Photos from the Linda Hall Library, the world’s foremost independent research library devoted to science, engineering, and technology.

A joint project from the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries and the Panama Canal Museum.

Provides a digitized record of the official documents published by the Panama Canal Commission, its predecessor agencies, and other Federal agency publishers about the Panama Canal from the early 20th century through the 1990’s.

Digital collections from the National Library of Paraguay include photographs, newspapers, and pamphlets. In Spanish.

To mark the resignation of Alberto Fujimori from his post as President of Peru, the National Security Archive, a non-governmental foreign policy documentation center at George Washington University, posted a collection of declassified U.S. documents on Vladimiro Montesinos – referred to as "Fujimori's Rasputin."

Digital cultural heritage collections from the Peru National Library. In Spanish.

Digital archive of historical resources from the northwestern region of Puerto Rico. In Spanish.

Digital collections from the University of Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rican books and pamphlets from the Library of Congress.