Skip to main content

Ask us!

World Civilization I - HIST101 - Primary Sources

Primary sources available in the library or on the Internet relevant to World Civilizations up to about 1500

Resources in Library Catalog

eBooks on this list are only available to RVCC students, faculty, and staff and require a login with your G# and password.

Arabs and Empires before Islam

Illuminates the history of the Arabs before the emergence of Islam, collating nearly two hundred and fifty translated extracts from an extensive array of ancient sources. Drawn from a broad period between the eighth century BC and the Middle Ages, the volume provides a comprehensive, wide-ranging, and up-to-date examination of what ancient sources had to say about the politics, culture, and religion of the Arabs in the pre-Islamic period.

Islam in the Indian Ocean world : a brief history with documents

This volume provides an understanding of how Islam changed the Indian Ocean world and vice versa — a world historical lesson that stretches across several centuries and a vast ocean. The opening section provides introductory information, and the second section called "The Documents" includes primary source material spanning from the 7th century to the 20th. .

Resources in Library Databases

Off campus, these resources are available only to RVCC students, staff, and faculty and require a login with your G# and password.

Ancient & Medieval History Online

Perform a keyword search, then select Primary Sources from the tabbed results.

Primary sources

To browse, select Primary Sources and then Ancient Near East: 4000 BCE-650 CE, Ancient & Medieval Asia: 3000 BCE-1600 CE or Islamic World: 570 CE-1500 CE.

Primary Sources       Asia and Middle East

ArtStor

The Artstor Digital Library provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Perform an advanced search to narrow by time period or geographical location.

Resources on the Internet

Avalon ProjectAncient Documents - This collection out of Yale Law School contains documents in law, history, and diplomacy. Browse by date or search from the home page.

Cyark: World Heritage Sites - Explore 3-D images of 200 sites on all seven continents. Cyark was founded in 2003 to digitally record, archive and share the world's most significant cultural heritage and ensure that these places continue to inspire wonder and curiosity for decades to come. Narrow by country or theme using the dropdown menus, or use the date range sliders to choose a beginning and/or ending date.

Hanover Historical Texts CollectionAfrica and Asia - Search from the homepage or browse by time period in this collection created by Hanover College.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Israel - A project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Mesopotamia - A project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Persia - A project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.

The Internet Classics Archive - Compiled by MIT, this site brings together links to 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors. Mainly Greco-Roman works, but scroll down for Chinese and Persian, all in English translation.

The National Treasures Department of the Israel Antiquities Authority - The National Treasures' collections comprise hundreds of thousands of artifacts that range from prehistoric periods to the end of the Ottoman period. This website offers a selection of published artifacts from the collections, with detailed archeological data about each.

Perseus Digital Library: Arabic Materials - From Tufts University, this collection contains English-Arabic translations and links to the Quaran. Also contains some secondary sources.

World Digital Library: Central and South Asia: 8000 BCE-499 CECentral and South Asia: 500-1499, East Asia: 8000 BCE-499 CE, East Asia: 500-1499, Middle East and North Africa: 8000 BCE-499 CEMiddle East and North Africa: 500-1499, Southeast Asia: 8000 BCE-499 CE, Southeast Asia: 500-1499  - View texts and artifacts along with a brief description of the item. Some sources are from later in history but are about something from this time period. Browse by time period or search from the home page.