Ask us!
World Civilization I - HIST101 - Primary Sources
Resources in Library Catalog
eBooks on this list are only available to RVCC students, faculty, and staff and require a login with your G# and password.
Ancient Rome : facts and fictions
This book shares little-known facts from and excerpts of primary source documents to correct popular misconceptions about Ancient Rome and to show how those misconceptions became widespread
Arete : Greek sports from ancient sources
From the informal games of Homer's time to the highly organized contests of the Roman world, Miller has compiled a trove of ancient sources: Plutarch on boxing, Aristotle on the pentathlon, Philostratos on the buying and selling of victories, Vitruvius on literary competitions, and Xenophon on female body building. The book offers readers an absorbing lesson in the culture of Greek athletics from the greatest of teachers, the ancients themselves (eBook).
The government of the Roman Empire : a sourcebook
The Government of the Roman Empire is the only sourcebook to concentrate on the administration of the empire, using the evidence of contemporary writers and historians. With extensive cross-referencing, bibliographies and introductions and explanations for each item, this new edition brings the book right up-to-date, and makes it the ideal resource for students of the subject (eBook).
The Histories
"The father of history," as Cicero called him, and a writer possessed of remarkable narrative gifts, enormous scope, and considerable charm, Herodotus has always been beloved by readers well-versed in the classics. Compelled by his desire to "prevent the traces of human events from being erased by time," Herotodus recounts the incidents preceding and following the Persian Wars. He gives us much more than military history, though, providing the fullest portrait of the classical world of the 5th and 6th centuries. Translated by Robin Waterfield, a distinguished translator whose version of Plato's Republic has been described as `the best available', this readable new translation is supplemented with expansive notes to help the reader appreciate the book in depth.
Resources in Library Databases
Off campus, these resources are available only to RVCC students, staff, and faculty and require a login with your G# and password.
- Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new windowAn online resource that provides biographies on notable ancient writers, military leaders and famous philosophers, Roman Emperors, Popes, Pharaohs/Queens of Egypt and archaeologists plus timelines, maps, graphs, videos and slideshows with links to many primary sources.
Perform a keyword search, then select Primary Sources from the tabbed results.
To browse, select Primary Sources and then Ancient Greece: 3300 BCE-30 BCE or Ancient Rome: 800 BCE-500 CE.
- ArtStor This link opens in a new windowThe Artstor Digital Library provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Perform an advanced search to narrow by time period or geographical location.
Resources on the Internet
- Avalon Project: Ancient DocumentsThis collection out of Yale Law School contains documents in law, history, and diplomacy from 4000bce - 399.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryHosted by Brigham Young University, this site brings together links to primary source documents grouped by country or time period.
- Hanover Historical Texts Collection: Ancient Greece and RomeWorks by pre-Socratic philosophers from Ancient Greece.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: GreeceA project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Hellenistic WorldA project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Late AntiquityA project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: RomeA project of Fordham University, this page brings together links to primary sources from all over the Internet.
- The Internet Classics ArchiveCompiled by MIT, this site brings together links to 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors. Mainly Greco-Roman works, but scroll down for Chinese and Persian, all in English translation.
- Perseus Digital Library: Greek and Roman MaterialsFrom Tufts University, this collection contains translations in English as well as the original language (Greek or Latin). Also contains some secondary sources.