Ask us!
Foundations of Science - SCIE 105
A collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval.
Research Databases for Primary Literature
These databases will include both primary and secondary literature. Use what you've learned about the differences between primary and secondary literature to identify which type of source you have found.
The databases are listed in order of usefulness for your course. Subject-specific databases, like Environment Complete, may contain articles related to biology within that field (for example, the impact of pollution on the human body).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowThis Elsevier database provides mostly full-text access to over 14 million scientific, technical and health publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.
- Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database provides mostly full-text for scientific journals in physics, engineering, transportation, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, computers, telecommunication and the military.
- Agricultural Collection This link opens in a new windowThis Gale database of scholarly and non-scholarly resources provides mostly full-text coverage of agricultural periodicals covering topics on farming management, agricultural history, agronomy, environmental issues, agricultural engineering and food science. This is a good resource for food science and biology students.
- Biology Database This link opens in a new windowA ProQuest database that provides access to a wide range of biology topics including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology, genetics, histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, neurology and zoology.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowAn EBSCO database the provides full-text materials in applicable areas of environmental studies, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science plus more.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as GREENR
A Gale database that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment and provides news, background information, video, commentaries, primary source documents and statistics covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary EBSCO database offering scholarly and non-scholarly material on a wide variety of subjects.
- Proquest Central This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that provides access to ProQuest databases across all major subject areas.