Racism and Social Injustice Resources

Ideal for research in the areas of criminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, and drug enforcement. It contains a combination of full-text and abstracts from books, dissertations & theses, magazines, reports, scholarly journals, trade journals, and working papers.

It also offers related images and supplementary research guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating. It contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). This is a good resource to help with writing or debating an effective argument on a topic..

Helpful to students studying nursing, criminal justice and the social sciences.

It features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. It provides mostly full-text access to scholarly journals, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical materials. It also provides over 25,000 author profiles on the most prolific, most cited and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

It is designed to reinforce critical thinking and problem solving skills. This database provides access to full-text newspapers and periodicals such as The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, and Smithsonian. This site places an emphasis on images, video and audio selections with archival film clips and broadcast video from sources such as BBC News, New York Times and NPR.

It also contains maps, statistics on slavery and the underground railroad, videos and slideshows of famous figures, plus links to many primary sources such as landmark laws and significant Supreme Court cases, famous speeches, civil rights documents, slavery and abolition documents and segregation and integration documents.

In this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.

This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:

Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.

It indexes over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses dating back to 1970 that include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. A good source for topics like gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies as well as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.

This Gale resource provides more than 20,100 pro/con viewpoints covering today’s hottest social issues and more than 19,200 reference articles, including topic overviews, charts and graphs, and statistical information. It contains over 300 profiles of federal agencies and special-interest groups and offers a dedicated portal focused on the annual debate topic determined by the National Speech and Debate Association. It provides access to full-text newspapers and periodicals from multiple perspectives, including National Review, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Commentary, and CNN Wire. This is a great resource for background research on topics to gain different perspectives.

Articles included are updated daily and come from leading journals such as Afro-Americans in New York Life and History, American Jewish History, California History, Hindsight, Indian Life, Journal of Folklore Research, Journal of the Southwest, Michigan Historical Review, New American, and Urban History Review.

This site places an emphasis on images and video with access to more than 5,000 primary source documents as well as reference materials such as the Dictionary of American Biography, the Dictionary of American History, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, U*X*L Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History and U*X*L Encyclopedia of U.S. History. It contains full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers and audio selections from NPR, The History Channel and Associated Press.