Ask us!
General Chemistry I - CHEM 103
This guide explains where you need to find background information, scholarly literature, the importance of incorporating this information into your paper, and how to cite it.
- Home
- Primary Literature
- Secondary LiteratureToggle Dropdown
- Choosing a Topic
- Finding Primary Literature
- Books for Research
- If you can't find a book or article
- Works Cited Help
Your Friendly Librarian
Megan Dempsey
If you have any questions about this guide or library materials for your course/assignment, contact me!
Databases for Secondary Literature
Collections of reference sources and mostly non-scholarly science publications
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowAccess Science contains non-scholarly articles and research reviews, dictionary and technical term definitions, biographies of well-known scientific individuals and animations illustrating key topics from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology.It is a good place to get an overview on a topic within the major scientific disciplines and link to primary research material and citable literature for continued research.
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowThis database provides biographies on inventors, scientists and engineers, diagrams for chemistry, geology, physics, weather and the universe, interactive experiments, timelines, and many videos and animations on multiple scientific topics.This is a great place to obtain an overview on a specific topic in the science fields by using the Topics Centers or browsing topics A-Z or to see what science topics are in the current news.
- Science In Context This link opens in a new windowA Gale online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues.It provides access to millions of full-text articles taken from national and global newspapers, magazines, and scholarly academic journals with reference content from sources such as Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Science and World of Chemistry, experiments and projects from U*X*L Experiment Central and images, videos, and audio selections from authoritative sources.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIf you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.
This is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.
- Last Updated: Oct 3, 2024 2:31 PM
- URL: https://library.raritanval.edu/CHEM103
- Print Page