Ask us!

Organizational & Technical Communication - COMM115 - Final Project

Research resources for the final project in Organizational & Technical Communication.

Choosing a topic

You may begin with a vague idea of what you want to research. Do some "pre-search" to narrow down your topic to something manageable. This can mean a simple Google search for your broad idea. Since you will be continuing your research and will have opportunities to evaluate info as you go along, it's okay to use the internet and sources like Wikipedia. The internet can be a great place to follow links and see connections between related topics.

During this initial exploration stage, keep an eye out for specific terminology and synonyms. These can help you later on when you are doing more targeted searching (see the next page for details).

If you want to use the library's databases to focus your topic, try one of our Research Starter databases, such as the two listed below.

Research Starter databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
If you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.

This is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
A Gale database that broadly covers the important issues of the modern world integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics in a single search.
The database focuses on broad issues as well as targeted issues including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the Syrian civil war, genetically modified foods, internet control and security, and privacy rights. Updated daily with more than 660 geographically diverse full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals for a global view.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This Gale database provides information covering today's hottest social issues. It contains pro/con viewpoints, magazine & newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles, reference articles, and more.
This Gale resource provides more than 20,100 pro/con viewpoints covering today’s hottest social issues and more than 19,200 reference articles, including topic overviews, charts and graphs, and statistical information. It contains over 300 profiles of federal agencies and special-interest groups and offers a dedicated portal focused on the annual debate topic determined by the National Speech and Debate Association. It provides access to full-text newspapers and periodicals from multiple perspectives, including National Review, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Commentary, and CNN Wire. This is a great resource for background research on topics to gain different perspectives.

Ask us!

Organizational & Technical Communication - COMM115 - Final Project

Choosing a topic

Research Starter databases

Opposing Viewpoints

Global Issues