Ask us!
World Civilization II - HIST102 - Primary Sources
Resources in Library Catalog
eBooks on this list are only available to RVCC students, faculty, and staff and require a login with your G# and password.
Africa and the West : a documentary history from the slave trade to independence
This book presents a range of hard-to-find primary source documents on Africa from the slave trade that started in the early part of the fifteenth century to independence and the problems of the post-colonial period.
After Africa : extracts from British travel accounts and journals of the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries concerning the slaves, their manners, and customs in the British West Indies
This compilation consists of a sampling of early accounts by 72 missionaries, travelers, and planters over 300 years of British colonization in the "New World." The editors' goal is to explore the extent that African traditions, including ceremonies, work, play, and religion, continued in the Americas.
Arms Control and Global Security : a Document Guide
Arms Control and Global Security: A Document Guide offers an unprecedented and comprehensive collection of arms-control documents dating from the late-19th century to the present. The book includes documents addressing the control of weapons of mass destruction, the banning of biological and chemical weapons, the weaponization of space, regional arms control, and bilateral agreements, as well as the limitations of conventional weaponry (eBook).
Resources on the Internet
- African Online Digital LibraryAn open access digital library of African cultural heritage materials created by Michigan State University in collaboration with museums, archives, scholars, and communities around the world.
- Cambridge Digital LibraryThe University of Cambridge made digitally available material from their collection "spanning most of the world's cultural traditions." Search or browse their collections of texts, manuscripts, letters, artifacts, and more.
- Center for Research Libraries Digital Delivery systemSearch or browse by country or subject to find primary source documents from around the world.
- Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British EmpireOver 150 streaming films related to life in former British colonies.
- Cyark: World Heritage SitesExplore 3-D images of 200 sites on all seven continents. Cyark was founded in 2003 to digitally record, archive and share the world's most significant cultural heritage and ensure that these places continue to inspire wonder and curiosity for decades to come. Narrow by country or theme using the dropdown menus, or use the date range sliders to choose a beginning and/or ending date.
- Digital BodleianOver 800,000 digital print items, manuscripts, and maps are available from the University of Oxford's libraries. Search or browse their collections covering a wide variety of topics.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryHosted by Brigham Young University, this site brings together links to primary source documents grouped by country or time period.
- Europeana CollectionsBrowse or search from the homepage in this portal that provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more from thousands of European archives, libraries and museums
- Gallica: The Bibliotheque Nationale de France digital libraryAccess the nearly 5 million texts, music, manuscripts, images, maps, and more by searching or browsing the collections from the French national library.
- Hanover Historical Texts Collection: Africa and AsiaPersonal and governmental historical texts from the 11th-20th centuries.
- Hanover Historical Texts Collection: Early Modern EuropeHistorical documents from the Renaissance, Reformation, the Scientific Revolution, the Enlightenment, and more.
- Mesoamerican Painted Manuscripts at the Latin American LibraryThe digital collection from Tulane University presents images of the Library’s holdings of original and rare copies of Mexican manuscripts painted in the native pictorial tradition.
- Old Maps OnlineAn index of over 400,000 old maps available online from various libraries, universities, and archives all over the world.
- Online Library of LibertyAn online collection of images and texts that can be searched or browsed by title, person, or idea. Covers topics from Ancient Greece, Rome, and Asia to the 21st century.