This guide was designed to offer links to selected materials/resources to those who have read The Hate U Give and are interested in learning more about the topics of racial inequality, social injustice, gang culture and/or racism.
Baratunde Thurston, Raquel Cepeda and Tanner Colby aren't afraid to confront race issues head-on. These hosts even have honest conversations (in which they'll often disagree) about conversations about race.
Books on the History of Racism
These books discuss racism of multiple kinds, the history of racism in America as well as racism on a global level.
W. E. B. DuBois wrote in 1903 that `the problem of the twentieth century is the problem of the colour line - the relation of the darker to the lighter races in Asia and Africa, in America and in the islands of the sea'. As the century draws to its close, this remains true; if anything the salience of race and racism in all its manifestations has grown in the recent past. The last few years have witnessed a growth in academic interest in racism, and in related issues such as nationalism and ethnicity, as well as an increasing general awareness of various kinds of racial conflict andviolence in a range of countries and regions across the globe. This Reader provides a critical overview of the historical development and contemporary forms of racist ideas and institutions. It brings together material from different theoretical perspectives in an attempt to make sense of the way inwhich racism has exerted such a powerful influence on the history of humanity.
Are antisemitism and white supremacy manifestations of a general phenomenon? Why didn't racism appear in Europe before the fourteenth century, and why did it flourish as never before in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries? Why did the twentieth century see institutionalized racism in its most extreme forms? Why are egalitarian societies particularly susceptible to virulent racism? What do apartheid South Africa, Nazi Germany, and the American South under Jim Crow have in common? How did the Holocaust advance civil rights in the United States? Fredrickson surveys the history of Western racism from its emergence in the late Middle Ages to the present.
While scholars have been developing valuable research on race and racism for decades, this work does not often reach the beginning college student or the general public, who rarely learn a basic history of race and racism. If we are to dismantle systemic racism and create a more just society, people need a place to begin. This accessible, introductory, and interdisciplinary guide can be one such place. Grounded in critical race theory, this book uses the metaphor of the Racism Machine to highlight that race is a social construct and that racism is a system of oppression based on invented racial categories. It debunks the false ideology that race is biological. As a manual, this book presents clear instructions for understanding the history of race, including whiteness, starting in colonial America, where the elite created a hierarchy of racial categories to maintain their power through a divide-and-conquer strategy. As a toolbox, this book provides a variety of specific action steps that readers can take once they have developed a foundational understanding of the history of white supremacy, a history that includes how the Racism Machine has been recalibrated to perpetuate racism in a supposedly "post-racial" era.
Leave now, or die! From the heart of the Midwest to the Deep South, from the mountains of North Carolina to the Texas frontier, words like these have echoed through more than a century of American history. The call heralded not a tornado or a hurricane, but a very unnatural disaster--a manmade wave of racial cleansing that purged black populations from counties across the nation. We have long known about horrific episodes of lynching in the South, but the story of widespread racial cleansingabove and below the Mason-Dixon line--has remained almost entirely unknown. Time after time, in the period between Reconstruction and the 1920s, whites banded together to drive out the blacks in their midst. They burned and killed indiscriminately and drove thousands from their homes, sweeping entire counties clear of blacks to make them racially "pure." The expulsions were swift-in many cases, it took no more than twenty-four hours to eliminate an entire African-American population. Shockingly, these areas remain virtually all-white to this day. Based on nearly a decade of painstaking research in archives and census records, Buried in the Bitter Waters provides irrefutable evidence that racial cleansing occurred again and again on American soil, and fundamentally reshaped the geography of race. In this groundbreaking book, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Elliot Jaspin has rewritten American history as we know it.
Racism has existed throughout the world for centuries and has been at the root of innumerable conflicts and human tragedies, including war, genocide, slavery, bigotry, and discrimination. Defined broadly, racism has had many forms and effects, from caste prejudice in India and mass extermination in Tasmania to slavery in the Americas and the Holocaust in Europe. Put simply, racism has been one of the overriding forces in world history for more than a millennium. This book provides a global perspective of racism in its myriad forms. Consisting of twelve parts and fifty-one articles, it focuses on racism worldwide over the past thousand years. It includes three types of articles: original documents, scholarly essays, and journalistic accounts.
The repression historically faced by African Americans has had an important effect on the nature of the group’s participation in foreign affairs. This book offers a much-needed and long-overdue survey of the field, setting the stage for further exploration and analysis. Chapters discuss the Congressional Black Caucus and TransAfrica Forum; African American political organizations and Africa; Colin Powell and Condoleezza Rice; the evaporation of strong black voices in events such as those in Rwanda and Darfur; and self-critical Pan Africanism. A prologue by Michael L. Clemons and introductory chapter by Ronald W. Walters provide new ways to conceptualize these international perspectives, while Clemons’s epilogue speculates on the opportunities and challenges offered by the presidency of Barack Obama.
The American environmental justice movement (EJM) emerged as an organized social and political force in the 1980s. Since then, it has spread to other industrialized countries such as Canada and Britain. Environmental justice movements can also be found in numerous countries in the developing world. It did not take long for the EJM to become a global phenomenon as activists around the world sought to understand the relationship between environment, race/ethnicity and social inequality more clearly. The volume, Environment and Social Justice: An International Perspective, will examine domestic and international environmental issues from an environmental justice perspective. The book is a compilation of original research articles that range in scope from a focus on Michigan and the Great Lakes to national and international case studies. The volume is divided into six parts.
These databases contain articles focused on the history of racism in the United States, historical figures involved in the pursuit of civil rights, and topics that include other forms of discrimination such as gender bias.
This is a great place to review topics within African-American history by using the Topics Centers or browsing topics A-Z. This database contains encyclopedia articles, biographies, and primary source documents.
It also contains maps, statistics on slavery and the underground railroad, videos and slideshows of famous figures, plus links to many primary sources such as landmark laws and significant Supreme Court cases, famous speeches, civil rights documents, slavery and abolition documents and segregation and integration documents.
A database with primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom.
In this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.
This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.
This Gale database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues as well as covering topics such as health coverage, relationships, religion, political issues and social issues within the LGBTQ community.
A ProQuest database that includes important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
It indexes over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses dating back to 1970 that include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. A good source for topics like gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies as well as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
This Gale database provides information covering today's hottest social issues. It contains pro/con viewpoints, magazine & newspaper articles, scholarly journal articles, reference articles, and more.
This Gale resource provides more than 20,100 pro/con viewpoints covering today’s hottest social issues and more than 19,200 reference articles, including topic overviews, charts and graphs, and statistical information. It contains over 300 profiles of federal agencies and special-interest groups and offers a dedicated portal focused on the annual debate topic determined by the National Speech and Debate Association. It provides access to full-text newspapers and periodicals from multiple perspectives, including National Review, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Commentary, and CNN Wire. This is a great resource for background research on topics to gain different perspectives.
A Gale database providing mostly full-text access to a collection of leading scholarly journals covering the current theories on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
Articles included are updated daily and come from leading journals such as Afro-Americans in New York Life and History, American Jewish History, California History, Hindsight, Indian Life, Journal of Folklore Research, Journal of the Southwest, Michigan Historical Review, New American, and Urban History Review.
A Gale resource that provides an overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements and people.
This site places an emphasis on images and video with access to more than 5,000 primary source documents as well as reference materials such as the Dictionary of American Biography, the Dictionary of American History, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, U*X*L Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History and U*X*L Encyclopedia of U.S. History. It contains full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers and audio selections from NPR, The History Channel and Associated Press.