Ask us!

Educational Resources - The Hate U Give

This guide was designed to offer links to selected materials/resources to those who have read The Hate U Give and are interested in learning more about the topics of racial inequality, social injustice, gang culture and/or racism.

Database Topic Pages

Here is a topic page for The Hate U Give from the Gale database, Student Resources in Context.

Databases

These databases contain articles on the topics of racial oppression and discrminination, racial injustice in the criminal justice system, racial polarity in American society, racial justice activism, and social racial attitudes.

Criminal Justice Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A Gale database of more than 700 full-text journals for paralegal and law research. A great source for forensic science, paralegal studies, sociology and law enforcement.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is a ProQuest database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Ideal for research in the areas of criminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, and drug enforcement. It contains a combination of full-text and abstracts from books, dissertations & theses, magazines, reports, scholarly journals, trade journals, and working papers.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
A Gale database that provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. This is a good resource for the social sciences, history and liberal arts coursework.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database provides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
It also offers related images and supplementary research guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating. It contains 400 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). This is a good resource to help with writing or debating an effective argument on a topic..
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database that offers indexing and full-text for hundreds of academic scholarly journals covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Helpful to students studying nursing, criminal justice and the social sciences.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
It features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. It provides mostly full-text access to scholarly journals, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical materials. It also provides over 25,000 author profiles on the most prolific, most cited and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
A Gale online resource that presents material on topics such as history, science, political and social issues and popular culture in support of students for papers, projects and presentations.
It is designed to reinforce critical thinking and problem solving skills. This database provides access to full-text newspapers and periodicals such as The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, and Smithsonian. This site places an emphasis on images, video and audio selections with archival film clips and broadcast video from sources such as BBC News, New York Times and NPR.