It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Women in the US - HIST 250
This guide will help you complete your assignment for HIST 250.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to peer-reviewed, academic content on the subjects of digital humanities and social science.
It contains full-text access to scholarly journals and ebooks from non-profit, scholarly publishers including university presses and societies. It covers topics in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
A multidisciplinary EBSCO database offering scholarly and non-scholarly material on a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects include major science disciplines such as biology, chemistry, and physics as well as engineering, psychology, religion and philosophy. It provides access to full text content for many scholarly journals, citations/abstracts for more than 1,000 titles and access to more than 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to ProQuest databases across all major subject areas.
Subjects include business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, books, newspapers, magazines, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, working papers, blogs, podcasts, websites, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, video and audio resources. Some articles have citation information only.
GenderWatchA ProQuest database that includes important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
It indexes over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses dating back to 1970 that include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. A good source for topics like gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies as well as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Databases for Popular History Articles
African American History OnlineThis is a great place to review topics within African-American history by using the Topics Centers or browsing topics A-Z. This database contains encyclopedia articles, biographies, and primary source documents.
It also contains maps, statistics on slavery and the underground railroad, videos and slideshows of famous figures, plus links to many primary sources such as landmark laws and significant Supreme Court cases, famous speeches, civil rights documents, slavery and abolition documents and segregation and integration documents.
American History OnlineThis is a good database to search American history topics by era, subject or alphabetically. The American Women's History Topic Center is now included within this database.
This database provides an overview of historical US events of the last 500 years with timelines, videos of newsreels, photographic documentation, biographies, statistics on historic US expeditions and exploration, immigration maps and charts plus links to many primary source documents on topics such as state charters, Federalist Papers, westward expansion, women’s suffrage, State of the Union addresses and Presidential Inaugural addresses.
American Indian History OnlineThis is a great database to review topics within American Indian history by cultural area or era or by using the Topics Centers.
This database provides biographies on war leaders, warriors, soldiers, spiritual and religious leaders, and activists plus timelines, maps, graphs, videos and slideshows with links to many primary sources such as treaties, key court cases, landmark legislation and legends.
It provides biographies on key women in politics, influential writers, leading suffragists, modern feminists, and notable scientists plus descriptions of women through different periods of American history with links to many primary sources such as documents on abortion, women’s liberation movement, women’s suffrage and landmark legislation and Supreme Court cases. This is a good resource to review women’s history topics by browsing suggested readings, suggested research topics, key people or reviewing all topics A-Z. To locate this information within the American History Online database, select American Women's History under Topic Centers
Encyclopedic resource with full-text, non-scholarly articles.
Articles are from Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and Britannica Book of the Year. Great for overview information, access to current statistics, a world atlas and current news plus links to primary sources such as world treaties, doctrines and official documents.
This is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.
If you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.
This database provides an overview of world history from the mid-15th century to the present.
It contains timelines, videos and slideshows, biographies, maps and graphs of historic explorations, empires and kingdoms, and wars plus links to many primary source documents such as constitutions and charters, weapons treaties, annexations and territorial agreements, and peace treaties and truces. A good place to search world history topics by region or era.