Ask us!
History of Women in the US - HIST 250
This guide will help you complete your assignment for HIST 250.
Your Friendly Librarian
Alyssa Valenti
she/her
History of Women in the US - HIST 250: Your Assignment
Don't hesitate to reach out to me via email, phone, or visiting! I am here to help you!
Welcome to the Library! This guide will help you in your research for your annotated bibliography for HIST 250. If you want to know more about annotated bibliographies, please consult the Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliographies.
You will need:
2 secondary sources
At least 3 primary sources
Some things to keep in mind:
-An annotated bibliography is a list of sources (citations)
-Each entry has a summary and/or evaluation
-Annotations contain the following:
*Summary - describe the content of the source
- What are the main arguments?
- What is the point of this book or article?
- What topics are covered?
- If someone asked what this article or book (or image) is about, what would you say?
- Describe how the source depicts the work.
*Evaluation - describe the usefulness of the source, who is it intended for? what might the source be used for?
- Is it useful?
- How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography?
- Is the information reliable?
- Is this source biased or objective?
- What is the goal of this source?
- What methods or techniques do the makers of the source use to present their story?
- How does the particular medium affect the picture shown?
- Did you notice any connections between this text and other texts on your list?
- Overall, did you think this text was valuable and worthwhile for researchers in your field?
*Reflection- what is your reaction to this source? how does it fit into your specific research?
- Was this source helpful to you?
- How does it help you shape your argument?
- How can you use this source in your research project?
- Has it changed how you think about your topic?
- What part(s) of the text may be applicable or useful for the specific project that you are working on?
- What part(s) of the text seem problematic or unhelpful?
Examples of annotated bibliographies in the library
An Annotated Bibliography of Modern Anglo-Irish Drama by
A PROVEN METHOD FOR LEARNING THE MOSTDIFFICULT-TO-UNDERSTAND CONCEPTS IN PHYSIOLOGY * Organizes and condenses the key topics in physiology * Eliminates rote memorization of complicated facts * Presents difficult concepts in understandable steps * Reinforces key concepts and definitions * Allows you to assess your individual competency level and study needs * Expedites learning with summary boxes, flowcharts, and diagrams that speed review and highlight key pointsFINALLY! A STUDY SYSTEM THAT SETS PRIORITIES, MINIMIZES MEMORIZATION, AND REDUCES STRESS!If you like this study method, try these other titles in the McGraw-Hill BASIC CONCEPTS series. Brown: BASIC CONCEPTS IN PATHOLOGY 0-07-008321-5 Clancy: BASIC CONCEPTS IN IMMUNOLOGY 0-07-011371-8 Sweeney: BASIC CONCEPTS IN EMBRYOLOGY 0-07-063308-8 McKenzie & Klein: BASIC CONCEPTS IN CELL BIOLOGY AND HISTOLOGY 0-07-036930-5 Gilbert: BASIC CONCEPTS IN BIOCHEMISTRY, 2nd edition 0-07-1356576 Horwitz: BASIC CONCEPTS IN GENETICS 0-07-134500-0 Stringer: BASIC CONCEPTS IN PHARMACOLOGY, 2nd edition 0-07-135699-1 Slaughter: BASIC CONCEPTS IN NEUROSCIENCE 0-07-136046-8
ISBN: 0878752013Publication Date: 1981-06-01
Kate Chopin by
Kate Chopin has emerged as one of the most significant American writers of the nineteenth century. Though her works typically reflect the language and customs of the Louisiana of her memories, they also make universal comments about women, men, and human relationships. Best known as the author of "The Awakening" (1899), she also wrote nearly a hundred short stories, essays, poems, reviews, and a play. While the contemporary response to her works was sometimes negative, much recent critical debate concerns her lasting place in the American literary canon, with some scholars placing "The Awakening" on the same level as Melville's "Moby-Dick." The last thirty years have witnessed heightened interest in Chopin's works. This bibliography provides a comprehensive survey of critical work on Chopin published between 1976 and 1998, with some coverage of 1999. Included are annotated entries for books, articles, dissertations, biographical studies, and bibliographical works. Extensive indexes offer easy access to the entries. In addition, the volume includes a biographical sketch, a review of trends in Chopin scholarship, and a textual history.
ISBN: 0313304246Publication Date: 1999-06-30
V. I. Lenin by
No descriptive material is available for this title.
ISBN: 0810815265Publication Date: 2002-08-07
Christopher Marlowe by
No descriptive material is available for this title.
Call Number: PR2674.F74 1979ISBN: 0810812398Publication Date: 1995-05-30
