Ask us!

Assessment and Treatment of Alcoholism and Drug Addiction - HMNS208

Finding research articles

Because scholarly research articles are on a specific study or experiment, they are often categorized into subject-specific databases. Searching these databases can be the best way to find relevant sources because you are only searching articles that fit into that category (unlike searching Google, which looks at all content on the internet)!

Depending on the quote and topic you chose, one of these databases may be your best bet! If you're not sure what subject your topic falls under, try using a multidisciplinary database or RVOneSearch, which searches many databases at once. This is still better than searching Google, because you are focusing on academic resources instead of who-knows-what you'll find on the internet!

These and more databases can be found on the Library's databases page (which you can also get to from the Library homepage).

RVOneSearch This link opens in a new window
RVOneSearch provides access to most of the information contained in many of the library's databases plus the RVCC library catalog.
It is a great place to begin your research with select key words to obtain a list of articles available throughout multiple databases as well as books, ebooks and websites accessible through RVCC’s library. Many limiters are available to modify your search such as full-text only, peer reviewed (scholarly), specific date ranges, or a specific database or source type.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary Gale database with the majority of content from full-text, scholarly journals.
Academic OneFile has indexing of over 13,000 journals covering multiple research subjects including the physical sciences, business, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature. The majority of the journals are peer reviewed and many articles are available in full-text. This database includes full-text for many cited articles in CINAHL and ERIC plus includes podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and CBC. It also includes key, scholarly journals published in Spanish and other languages.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary EBSCO database offering scholarly and non-scholarly material on a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects include major science disciplines such as biology, chemistry, and physics as well as engineering, psychology, religion and philosophy. It provides access to full text content for many scholarly journals, citations/abstracts for more than 1,000 titles and access to more than 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Biology Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database that provides access to a wide range of biology topics including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology, genetics, histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, neurology and zoology.
It is helpful for research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, neuroscience, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, nursing practices, entomology, and more. Searches can be customized for animal and human studies as well as gender specific studies. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is a ProQuest database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Ideal for research in the areas of criminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, and drug enforcement. It contains a combination of full-text and abstracts from books, dissertations & theses, magazines, reports, scholarly journals, trade journals, and working papers.
Gale Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
This is a Gale database that provides access to indexed scholarly journals and magazines with an emphasis placed on full-text access to articles cited in PsycINFO.
All fields of psychology are covered and as well as all major paradigms including behavioral, cognitive, psychoanalytic, biological, and developmental.
Health Management Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database is designed for researchers studying the field of health administration but is also helpful for all health sciences including nursing and ophthalmic studies with some coverage of social work and child and family welfare.
The resources cover a wide range of topics including hospitals, health protocols and studies, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration. Full-text content is from scholarly journals, top journals, and trade publications as well as thousands of dissertations and theses including international coverage.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to ProQuest databases across all major subject areas.
Subjects include business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, books, newspapers, magazines, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, working papers, blogs, podcasts, websites, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, video and audio resources. Some articles have citation information only.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full-text access to leading psychology and psychosomatic scholarly publications as well as dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice.
The content covers clinical and social psychology but also covers related topics such as genetics, the psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare. A good resource for psychology, human services/social work and nursing students.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This database is part of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database that offers indexing and full-text for hundreds of academic scholarly journals covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Helpful to students studying nursing, criminal justice and the social sciences.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides access to the full-text of more than 700 scholarly journals in sociology and social work.
Its content covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction.