Ask us!
Paralegal Studies Resources
New Jersey Websites
- Court Rules for US District Court for District of NJNJ Federal Court rules
- New Jersey LegislatureComprehensive site for the NJ Legislature, including members, bills, sessions proceedings, and budget information.
- NJ Administrative CodeLexisNexis provides free online public access to the semi-monthly updated version of the New Jersey Administrative Code. Please note that the online version of the Code is not the official Code.
- NJ Court RulesCivil, Criminal and Family Court rules governing NJ courts
- NJ CourtsHomepage for New Jersey Courts
- NJ Courts Judiciary Civil SearchFormerly "eCourts," allows you to check discovery end dates, judge assignments, and motion status
- NJ Judges Contact DirectoryFind contact information for NJ judges.
- NJ JudiciaryNew Jersey's Court Homepage
- NJ Model Civil Jury ChargesCharges for civil causes of action in NJ
- NJ Rules of EvidenceEvidence Rules for NJ courts
- NJ Rules of Professional ConductEthics Rules that govern NJ attorneys
- NJ StatutesSearchable database of New Jersey Statutes (Unannotated)
Federal Law Web Sites
- The Supreme Court of the United StatesThe official Web site of the Supreme Court.
- The Federal JudiciaryGives a thorough explanation of the United States Court system.
- Federal Rules of EvidenceEvidence Rules for Federal Courts
- Federal Rules of Civil ProcedureCivil Court rules governing all US courts
- American Law InstituteOne of oldest providers of scholarly legal works in the US
Locating Free Case Law
- Google ScholarMake sure to select "Legal Documents." There is also an advanced search option available by clicking the arrow at the end of the search box.
- FindlawProvides legal information, lawyer profiles, and a community to help you find answers to legal questions. Use to find information on Enron, Toyota, and other current cases.
Other Legal Research Tools Online
- Rutgers School of Law Legal LibraryNumerous resources compiled by the Rutgers University Libraries.
- National Center for State CourtsThe National Center for State Courts promotes the rule of law and improves the administration of justice in state courts and courts around the world.
- Date CalculatorCan be used to determine filing deadlines, etc.
Library Databases
The following databases are available via the library's databases page. RVCC login is required for off-campus access.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new window This database contains information from historical and government documents including the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 160 million pages and 200,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,600 law-related periodicals.
- Lexis Advance (in-library use only) This link opens in a new window This database is for on campus, in-library use only; see a Librarian for login information.There are Quick Tip videos for using Lexis Advance on YouTube.
It provides access to LexisNexis Total Research System to search state & federal legal cases, Shepard’s Citations, patents, public records, trademarks, law reviews, and legal studies. Publications include legal analysis from Collier, Nimmer, Chisum, Gilson, Moore, Larson, Appleman, Weinstein and many more. This is an excellent source for students in paralegal studies.
- LEGALTRAC This link opens in a new window A Gale database collection of major legal publications, law reviews, and legal newspapers.This database indexes more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text. This resource is endorsed by the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) and its content is updated, reviewed and enhanced by the AALL special advisory committee.
- Criminal Justice Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window A Gale database of more than 700 full-text journals for paralegal and law research. A great source for forensic science, paralegal studies, sociology and law enforcement.
- Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This is a ProQuest database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.Ideal for research in the areas of criminology, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, and drug enforcement. It contains a combination of full-text and abstracts from books, dissertations & theses, magazines, reports, scholarly journals, trade journals, and working papers.
RVCC Legal Reference Collection
Located on the 1st floor
- U.S. Supreme Court Reports by United States Supreme CourtCall Number: KF101 .U57Reference Collection - 1st floor
- NJ Supreme Court Reports by New Jersey Supreme CourtCall Number: KFN1845.A2Reference Collection - 1st floor
- NJ Superior Court Reports by New Jersey Superior CourtCall Number: KFN1848.A21Reference Collection - 1st floor
RVCC Library: Books and Media Catalog Search
Search the RVCC Books & Media catalog to find books, ebooks, media, DVDs, and other electronic films related to legal issues.
- Last Updated: Aug 29, 2024 10:43 AM
- URL: https://library.raritanval.edu/paralegalstudies
- Print Page