African American History OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThis is a great place to review topics within African-American history by using the Topics Centers or browsing topics A-Z. This database contains encyclopedia articles, biographies, and primary source documents.
It also contains maps, statistics on slavery and the underground railroad, videos and slideshows of famous figures, plus links to many primary sources such as landmark laws and significant Supreme Court cases, famous speeches, civil rights documents, slavery and abolition documents and segregation and integration documents.
A database with primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom.
In this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.
This website contains approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
The documents presented here represent a selection of primary sources available in several ProQuest databases. The databases represented in this website include American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.