Ask us!
ARTS255 Portfolio Development
- Assignment & Objectives
- Transfer Research
- Career Research
- Job Searching
- Resumes & Artist Statements
- Interviewing
Need Career Advice?
RVCC offers individual career counseling and assessment services to currently enrolled matriculated students (those planning to obtain a degree at the college) and to alumni.
Databases & Websites to Research a Career
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowThis Facts On File resource provides career and job specific information with industry and professions articles, school planning resources, and skills and career advice.Users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions, as well as evaluate schools. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including more than 880 updated articles and entries from the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition. It also features a career advice blog, a networking section, and links to outside jobs and internships.
- Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new windowThis is a ProQuest database useful to both students and instructors to research most technical topics, including computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.Users can find access to trade publications such as Marketing, Journal of Nursing Education, Physical Therapy, Logistics Today, Accounting Horizons, and Agricultural Research. Vocational publications also provide users with occupation-focused titles such as Marketing Week, Aviation Week & Space Technology, Broadcasting & Cable, Nursing, Law & Order, Chemist & Druggist, Electronic Engineering Times, and many more as well as access to ebooks and career advice blogs.
- The Art Career ProjectThe Art Career Project is here to help you navigate this sometimes difficult road from aspiring artist to successful professional. Not all artists are cut from the same mold and there are many different paths that can lead to rewarding careers depending on your personal interests, talents, and skills.
- Arts & Design Occupations from the Occupational Outlook HandbookArts and Design Occupations:
Workers in this group create products and concepts that have practical or aesthetic purposes. Overall employment in arts and design occupations is projected to grow about as fast as the average for all occupations. - Career CoachA free online search tool that lets you explore hundreds of potential careers. Select a career that suits your interests and learn about educational requirements, job prospects and wages – all localized to the tri-state region. You’ll also get to view current job postings in the area and develop your own resume.
- NYFA: New York Foundation for the Arts Job BoardThe leading job board for jobs in the arts and culture sector.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThe OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Ebooks from the Salem Press Careers Encyclopedia Series
Click the title of an Ebook below, then skim the Table of Contents for the career you need information about.
- Last Updated: Sep 18, 2024 1:14 PM
- URL: https://library.raritanval.edu/ARTS255
- Print Page