Ask us!

Professional Development: Music - MUSC265

Resources for researching a 20th century composer

Library databases

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database covering subjects within the arts.
Subjects include contemporary art, design, crafts, photography, archaeology, anthropology and classical studies, architecture, interior design, urban planning, history, philosophy, geography, religion, modern languages and literature, music, theater, film studies, ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, and cultural studies.

This database is supportive of studio art and design courses and students can access images and other information about contemporary art practice as well as resources on art from history, sociology, philosophy and cultural studies journals. The database includes over 500 titles, with mostly full-text access from the 1970s to present from both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
A Gale database that covers historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers by offering authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
It contains more than 650,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 international figures from all time periods and areas of study The database is continuously updated with full-text articles are drawn from hundreds of periodicals and newspapers, including The New York Times, USA Today, Daily Mail (London), and Globe and Mail (Canada).
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
If you receive a "Connection refused by search.credoreference.com, please try again later" error message, please refresh your browswer to continue to Credo Reference.To avoid seeing this error, it is best to clear your browser's cache.

This is an online collection of over 950 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks as well as short reference videos, art images, and additional images across all subject areas. As subject coverage is diverse, this is a good place to begin a topic search before formal research.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
A Gale database that provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking with many arts related topics such as art therapy, dance, elementary music education, advanced music theory, and the feminist film movement.
The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and Repertoire International de Lietterature Musicale (RILM) bibliography. This is a good resource for studio art and visual arts students, art history students, dance, film and music students.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, scholarly database containing digitized back issues of academic journals, books, primary sources, and current issues of journals.
It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals on a variety of subjects including history, science, literature, music, philosophy, world culture and business.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to peer-reviewed, academic content on the subjects of digital humanities and social science.
It contains full-text access to scholarly journals and ebooks from non-profit, scholarly publishers including university presses and societies. It covers topics in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Books, eBooks & Media Catalog

RVCC Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This is access to the complete RVCC library catalog of print books, ebooks and all other electronic sources, audiobooks, periodicals, DVD’s, CD’s, music scores, and websites.
Materials can be searched by keyword, title, author, or subject. To search for articles, please use RVOneSearch or a specific database.