Ask us!

Princeton University Art Museum Research

RVCC Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database for art students and art historians featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from many publications covering topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
In addition to providing full-text articles from periodicals, this database provides indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals and art dissertations and indexing for hundreds of thousands of art reproductions. With full-text coverage dating back to 1977, this database also contains resources such as books by and about artists, artist materials and methods, artist interviews and profiles and a database-specific thesaurus.
ArtStor This link opens in a new window
An image database with images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars and artists including many rare and important collections. (Please be aware Artstor will be retired on August 1, 2024. All content will be moved to JSTOR.)
All images have comprehensive metadata and all content is rights-cleared for educational use. Images can be found for topics such as anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, and world history.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest collection of ebooks spanning multiple subjects including anthropology, religion, fine arts, language & literature, physical sciences, life sciences, social sciences, medicine, computers, business, engineering & technology, education and history.
This database provides the ability to search within book text as well as cite, save and print ebook chapters however there are limits on the number of pages that can be downloaded.
EBooks (from EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks spanning a diverse array of subjects including history, health & medicine, engineering & technology, social sciences, law, education, business economics and fiction.
This database provides the ability to search within text or by subject, title, author, category, and year of publication as well as cite, save and print ebook portions, export citations, and search within chapters.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
A Gale database that provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking with many arts related topics such as art therapy, dance, elementary music education, advanced music theory, and the feminist film movement.
The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and Repertoire International de Lietterature Musicale (RILM) bibliography. This is a good resource for studio art and visual arts students, art history students, dance, film and music students.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, scholarly database containing digitized back issues of academic journals, books, primary sources, and current issues of journals.
It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals on a variety of subjects including history, science, literature, music, philosophy, world culture and business.