Ask us!
LGBTQ+ Research
Collections to search for LGBTQ+ research
The following collections can be used to find information on the historical and cultural context of LGBTQ+ movements and people. Search for a specific topic (e.g. "LGBT rights") within these collections to retrieve relevant results. Read the descriptions of each collection to choose the most appropriate one to search for your topic.
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for specific LGBTQ topics or people to learn more about them in the context of American history. Contains encyclopedia-like information, timelines, and biographies.
- Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) HistoryProvides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide (2019). Use the "Search within this title" search box or browse the alphabetic list of entries.
- Great Events from History: LGBTQ, 2nd EditionChronicles important historical events from around the world that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of gays, lesbians, bisexuals, queers and transsexual, transgender, intersex, and asexual persons.
- The Lesbian and Gay MovementsThe Lesbian and Gay Movements explores this dilemma in both contemporary and historical contexts, describing the sources of these conflicts, to what extent the conflicts have been resolved, and how they might be resolved in future (2015). Includes sections on "The Conflict over HIV/AIDS Policy," "Don't Ask, Don't Tell: Policy Perspectives on the Military Ban," and "Jilted at the Altar: The Debate over Same-Sex Marriage."
- LGBTQ+ RightsAs the newest addition to HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, LGBTQ+ Rights is dedicated to charting the gay rights movement in America. This includes showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as demonstrating the inequalities that still exist today.
- LGBTQIA+ FiguresComprehensive list of relevant individuals. The topic page for each listed individual includes an overview of the figure and additional biographies, news articles, magazine articles, videos and more.
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowThis Gale database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues as well as covering topics such as health coverage, relationships, religion, political issues and social issues within the LGBTQ community.