Ask us!

Technological Literacy Across the Social Sciences - SSCI101

Finding Scholarly Articles

One of the best places to find scholarly articles for college research is in the Library databases. Library databases are collections of resources--often they are articles, but they can also be eBooks, streaming video, images, and more. Content is selected to be part of a database because it fits into a common theme. That means instead of searching all possible articles, many of which may be irrelevant, you are performing a targeted search on articles relevant to your topic. Combining this targeted search with your specific keywords will make it much easier to find articles for your research!

Databases for Scholarly Articles

The databases listed below will be especially helpful for researching social science topics. You can also go to the Library's databases page and select a different database by using the Subject dropdown menu at the bottom, or choosing from one of our multi-disciplinary options.

(To find government studies, use the government website links in the chart on page 2 of this guide)

Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This Gale database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues as well as covering topics such as health coverage, relationships, religion, political issues and social issues within the LGBTQ community.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full-text access to political science and international relations journals.
Content comes from over 40 countries covering topics related to political science, international relations and public policy such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy. The database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
This Gale database provides full-text access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
The database offers useful information for students studying or researching in the social sciences or the arts.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides full-text access to leading psychology and psychosomatic scholarly publications as well as dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice.
The content covers clinical and social psychology but also covers related topics such as genetics, the psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare. A good resource for psychology, human services/social work and nursing students.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This Elsevier database provides mostly full-text access to over 14 million scientific, technical and health publications from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books.
Some articles have citation and abstract information only. This is a good source for scholarly articles in nursing, psychology and the sciences.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest database that offers indexing and full-text for hundreds of academic scholarly journals covering a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Helpful to students studying nursing, criminal justice and the social sciences.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
This EBSCO database provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
It features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus. It provides mostly full-text access to scholarly journals, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical materials. It also provides over 25,000 author profiles on the most prolific, most cited and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database provides access to the full-text of more than 700 scholarly journals in sociology and social work.
Its content covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction.