Ask us!
Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies @ The Evelyn S. Field Library
With a mission of promoting tolerance, combating bigotry, educating the community, and evoking remembrance, the Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies has been serving educators, students, and the community since 1981.
The Morris and Dorothy Hirsch Research Library of The Holocaust, Genocide, and Racism is located on the second floor of the Evelyn S. Field Library at Raritan Valley Community College. Established in 1999, the library offers a place for quiet study and reflection. Teaching materials, reference materials, a multi-media collection, and wifi are available. This Resource Room serves as an instructional center for classes, workshops, lectures, traveling exhibits, and presentations.
The mission of The Morris and Dorothy Hirsch Research Library of the Holocaust, Genocide, & Racism, an integral and active component of the Evelyn S. Field Library, is to empower students and community members through vital resources made available in our collection of materials and programming.
More information on IHGS can be found on their page of the RVCC website: https://www.raritanval.edu/community-resources/holocaust-institute
Morris & Dorothy Hirsch Research Library of the Holocaust, Genocide, and Racism Collections
The Institute's Morris and Dorothy Hirsch Research Collection features several subcollections, divided by format or audience. Each link below will launch a search in the library catalog for that collection, which you can browse through. To search within the collection, go to Advanced Search, change the second Search Index dropdown menu to also say Keyword, and type your search terms.
Also in the IHGS Center are book displays located on the tops of the shelves:
- IHGS Display - this display changes to shine a spotlight on certain subjects
- IHGS New Book Display - new additions to the collection are available here
Online Library Resources
The Evelyn S. Field has many digital resources that, while not part of the official Hirsch Collection, are relevant to the topics of the Holocaust, genocide, and racism.
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies JournalPublished in association with the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, this is the premier forum for work on the extensive body of literature and documentation on the Holocaust and genocide. It features essays and reviews that cut across the disciplines of history, literature, economics, religious studies, anthropology, political science, sociology, and others. HGS is the only publication to address the related study of how insights into the Holocaust apply to other genocides.
Internet Resources
- Experiencing History: Holocaust Sources in ContextLearn about the Holocaust from selected primary sources with historical context in this free online resource from the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.
- Testimonies of Roma and SintiA database of firsthand accounts of the Holocaust by Roma and Sinti individuals from the Czech Lands and Slovakia. Abstracts for some testimonies are available on this page; all have information about where the full text can be found.