Ask us!

Early Childhood Education

In this guide you will find a variety of library resources such as books, e-books, and databases related to early childhood education.

Education Databases

Below are library databases that will be useful for researching education.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary EBSCO database offering scholarly and non-scholarly material on a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects include major science disciplines such as biology, chemistry, and physics as well as engineering, psychology, religion and philosophy. It provides access to full text content for many scholarly journals, citations/abstracts for more than 1,000 titles and access to more than 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.
Curriculum Resource Center This link opens in a new window
While designed for supplementing curriculum lesson plans, these resources can also be used to supplement a research paper with citation help available. Includes handouts and other resources, all available in full text.
While designed for supplementing curriculum lesson plans, these resources can also be used to supplement a research paper with citation help available.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement and is administered by the U.S. National Library of Education (NLE).
It contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents including journal articles (most of which are scholarly), books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more. Through the EBSCO interface, it provides an education-specific thesaurus that includes controlled vocabulary.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
This Facts On File resource provides career and job specific information with industry and professions articles, school planning resources, and skills and career advice.
Users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions, as well as evaluate schools. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including more than 880 updated articles and entries from the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition. It also features a career advice blog, a networking section, and links to outside jobs and internships.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that provides access to ProQuest databases across all major subject areas.
Subjects include business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, books, newspapers, magazines, conference papers and proceedings, dissertations and theses, working papers, blogs, podcasts, websites, tables, trade journals, wire feeds, video and audio resources. Some articles have citation information only.

Journals

The following are well-known scholarly journals in child development and early education. These journals publish research that has been peer reviewed. Search for them in our Periodicals & Journals Search to find out which databases contain their articles.

American Educational Research Journal
Developmental Psychology
Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology
Journal of Early Intervention
Journal of Research in Childhood Education

In addition, you can utilize the Open Access Journal American Educational Research Association Open freely online.