Skip to Main Content
library logo

Ask us!

Global Strategic Management - BUSI 194 - Ferrer

Library and Internet Resources for students in Professor Ferrer's Global Strategic Management course.

Using this Guide

This guide contains links to freely available online content, online library resources from the Evelyn S. Field Library, and print resources from the library. Once you've identified the type of information you need, go to that section of the guide to see which resources are recommended for your research. There is also a list of additional online sources that are more general in nature or might be helpful for types of information not included in the guide's categories. For help using this guide or library resources, contact your librarian, Megan Dempsey. 

Company Information

Annual reports for specific companies can often be found on the company's website. 

  • Try a Google search for the company name and "annual report" - e.g. Toyota annual report
  • If a search doesn't take you to the report itself, go to the company's homepage and look for links aimed at "Investors." For example, on Toyota.com, you have to select "Our Company" from the links on the bottom of the page, then use the link for "Investors" at the top of the next page to get to Annual Reports.

Annual Reports for select companies are also available in the library database ABI/Inform Complete

  • Select ABI/Inform Complete from the Databases list
  • Click the Browse link just above the search box
  • Select Proquest Annual Reports Collection
  • Search for the company

Securities and Exchange Commission Annual Report Form 10-K (annually) and 10-Q (quarterly); and Shareholders meeting notices in SEC Form 14-A

  • Go to Edgar Company Filings online at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission website
  • Search company name or ticker number (if you search by name, select the company you want from the list provided).
  • You will retrieve a list of filings. The filing number is in the left column. Click Documents in the next column to view available filings.

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives information is provided in the library database LexisNexis Academic

  • Select LexisNexis Academic from the Databases list
  • Click in the Get Company Info box on the search screen.
  • Enter the name of the company and search. If more than 1 company is retrieved, select the one you want from the list.
  • On the left menu, click Other Reports. If the S & P Register information is available, you will see a link to it.

Hoover's Company Records

  • Select Hoover's Company Records from the Databases list
  • Under More Search Options, enter the name of the company. Click search (you can leave the top search box empty).

Economic Information

Economic Report of the President 

Monthly Labor Review - available in ABI/Inform Complete

Statistical Abstract of the United States - most recent data is from 2012; publication ceased after that

Statistical Yearbook (United Nations) 

Survey of Current Business 

American FactFinder - data from the U.S. Census Bureau 

Key Economic Indicators - from the U.S. Department of Commerce

Business Statistics of the United States - Print book in library Reference Collection HC101.A13122 

Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics : Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data - Print book in library Reference Collection HD8051.A63

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - can narrow to regional statistics 

Industry Information

Bloomberg Business Week - available in Business Source Elite
Fortune - publishes financial information on corporations in certain industries in April - available in Business Source Elite
Forbes - mid-January issue has performance data on firms in various industries - available in ABI/Inform Complete
Inc. - May & Dec issues have info on fast-growing entrepreneurial companies - available in Business Source Elite
 

Directory and Index Information

Thomas's Register of American Manufacturer's
Directory of Associations - free to search

Ratio Analysis Information

Quarterly Financial Report - U.S. Census Bureau - available online at http://www.census.gov/econ/qfr/ - select "Financial Data Tables"

Yahoo!Finance: Industry Ratios - includes current ratios for about 100 industries, with data provided by Reuters - available online at http://biz.yahoo.com/p/sum_conameu.html - Use Key Statistics and Industry links to obtain financial ration information