Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ask us!

Scholarly Articles

Where do I find scholarly articles?

Searching library databases is the most efficient way to find scholarly articles, but they can also be found online through search engines. You can search for scholarly articles using:

  • RVOneSearch - on the library homepage, it searches across most of the library's different databases
  • Multidisciplinary library databases - collections of journals from a wide range of subject areas that can be used for researching most topics
  • Subject-specific library databases - collections of journals from specific subject areas, or disciplines
  • Journals - if you need articles from a specific journal or have a citation to an article you want to find, you can search within specific journals that the library has in our databases
  • Google Scholar - performs a search of scholarly publications that have public websites; the articles are not always freely available 

RVOneSearch

RVOneSearch allows you to do one search to find books, audiobooks, eBooks, films, scholarly journal articles, newspapers & magazines. 

RVOneSearch
Limit Your Results

The following video demonstrates the basics of finding scholarly articles in RVOneSearch.

Subject Specific Databases

The library subscribes to databases that contain journals specific to a particular discipline or set of related disciplines. When searching these databases, you may retrieve fewer results, but they will be targeted to the subject area you are researching. 

When thinking about your topic, consider which broad subject area it relates to (for example, Criminal Justice, or History, or Psychology). Select that subject from the Databases by Subject drop down menu below or on the full list of databases.

Databases by Subject

Find Journals and Other Periodicals through the Library

Search Full Text Finder to determine if the library has a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper in a database or in print. 

 
Search: Library Publications

Google Scholar

Google Scholar performs a Google search of scholarly content on the internet. You may not have free access to all of the articles found in a Google Scholar search. However, you can check if the library has access to the article by searching the article title in RVOneSearch or using Full Text Finder to search for the journal that published the article.

Google Scholar Search

Tell Google you're with us!

You can set Google Scholar to recognize that you have access to certain articles because you are an RV student. 

  1. Go to Settings on the Google Scholar webpage (look for a menu icon if you don't see Settings).
  2. Select Library links.
  3. Search for Raritan Valley Community College.
  4. Check the box next to Raritan Valley Community College - Find It @ RVCC

Your search results will now include a "Find It @ RVCC" link on the right side of the screen for any articles that you may be able to access through our library subscriptions.