Ask us!
- Raritan Valley Community College
- Evelyn S. Field Library
- Topic Guides
- Virtual Library Tour
- Evelyn S. Field Library
Virtual Library Tour: Evelyn S. Field Library
The Evelyn S. Field Library at Raritan Valley Community College promotes access to high-quality resources, intellectual freedom, academic growth, and open-minded exploration in a welcoming and inclusive environment that is conducive to study. We invite you to explore all that we have to offer through this virtual tour of the Library. Students can find additional detailed information on the Student Resources page.
Services
Research help
Librarians are available to help you with your research or find answers to your questions. Our Reference/Information desk is staffed during all open hours.
Live chat with a Librarian
Librarians are available to help you online, too! Look for "Ask Us" on our website and in the databases to start a live chat or send us an email if we're not online.
Course & assignment guides
Librarians create course & assignment guides when we teach a class or know there's a tough research assignment out there. Skim these for help with popular research assignments.
Laptops
We have laptops that you can check out to use while in the library. They're great for working in a group study room.
Scanning
Scanning is free and scans can be emailed, saved to a flash drive, or uploaded to cloud storage. Our book scanner lets you quickly scan books and documents to PDF or other file formats with a simple touch screen.
Meet the Librarians
Alyssa Valenti, Electronic Resources & Web Services Librarian
Alyssa is the liaison to the Arts & Design, Health Science Education and Math & Computer Science departments.
Megan Dempsey, Instructional Services Librarian
Megan is the liaison to the English, Business & Public Service, and Science & Engineering departments, and the Honors College.
Janelle Bitter, Systems & Tech Services Librarian
Janelle is the liaison to the Communication & Languages, and Humanities, Social Science, Social Work & Education departments.
Electronic Resources
RVOneSearch for one-stop searching
RVOneSearch lets you search for articles, books, ebooks, streaming videos and more across nearly all of the library's collections at once.
Reference databases
Reference databases, like Credo Reference, are great for gathering ideas and learning new terms from specialized encyclopedias and handbooks.
Research starter databases
Research starter databases, like Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context, give you a broad overview of a topic and a variety of sources related to the topic.
Multidisciplinary databases
Multidisciplinary databases, like Proquest Central, Academic Search Premier, and Gale Academic OneFile, provide news, magazine, and scholarly journal articles from a wide range of subject areas.
Subject-specific databases
Subject-specific databases, like CINAHL for nursing, contain articles from specialized journals in particular subject areas, which can be chosen on the Databases page.
Streaming videos
We offer collections of streaming videos to supplement your coursework, including Kanopy, AVON - Academic Video Online, and Films on Demand.
eBooks
E-books are available on a variety of platforms and can be found by searching the Books, eBooks and Media Catalog.
Physical Collections
Circulating books
Our circulating book collection on the 2nd floor can be searched from the Books, eBooks & Media Catalog button on our homepage. We have over 80,000 books to support your courses!
Reference collection - 1st floor
The Reference collection on the 1st floor has encyclopedias, handbooks, and legal reference materials for quick use in the library. They cannot be checked out.
Magazines in the Reading Lounge
Our Reading Lounge on the first floor is a comfortable space to browse through current issues of magazines and newspapers.
Popular DVDs and documentaries
We have major motion pictures and educational documentaries on DVD. These can be checked out with an RVCC ID card.
Textbook reserves
We do not have all textbooks, but many popular ones. Our Textbook Reserve collection allows you to check out a textbook for two hours and use it while in the Library.
Study Spaces
First floor quiet study
The first floor is quiet study. You can socialize and chat quietly. Large tables let you spread out your stuff or work together.
Silent Study
The 2nd floor of the Library is silent study. We maintain silence upstairs so that students who need the quietest place to study have a place to go. Our hexagon carrels provide comfortable, private seating.
Student Group Study Rooms
There are 5 student group study rooms on the second floor. They can be reserved in advance or used on a first-come, first-served basis when available.
Individual Study Carrels
The second floor is silent study and has individual study carrels for you to work at.
Library Rooms
Library Classroom - L107
Our classroom is used for instruction by the librarians and is an open computer lab for student use when we are not teaching.
Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
The Institute for Holocaust & Genocide Studies is on the 2nd floor and can be used for quiet study when no programs are scheduled.
Paul Robeson Institute for Ethics, Leadership and Social Justice
The Robeson Resource Room on the 1st floor houses collections and memorabilia related to Paul Robeson and is a quiet study room.
Library Floor Plan
Looking for something in the library? Check out our floor plan!
