Research Guides: Social Issues

Bookmark and Share
Books

1. For Topic Ideas

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of modern American social issues Reference HN57.K73 1997
Great debates at the United Nations: An encyclopedia of fifty ke... Circulating KZ4968 .G67 2001
Social issues in science and technology : an encyclopedia Reference Q175.5 .N49 1999
State of the World Reference HC59.S74
Supreme Court Drama : Cases That Changed America Reference KF4550.Z9 B73 2001
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook Reference JZ1242 .W67 2002

2. Guns, Drugs

Title Location CallNumber
Ecoterrorism Circulating GE197.L66 2004
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior Reference HV5804.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of gun control and gun rights Reference KF3941.A68 U88 2000
Guns in American society : an encyclopedia of history, politics,... Reference HV7436 .G8783 2002

3. Environmental Issues

Title Location CallNumber
American environmental leaders: from colonial times to the prese... Reference GE55 .B43 2000
Dictionary of environmental law Reference K3584.6 .G55 2000
Encyclopedia of environmental studies Reference TD9 .A84 2001
Encyclopedia of global change: environmental change and human so... Reference GE149 .E47 2002
Environmental law handbook Reference KF3775 .E55 2001
Global warming Reference QC981.8.G56 L66 2004
The facts on file dictionary of environmental science Reference TD9.W95 2007
The global warming desk reference E-Book  

4. Ethics, Bioethics, Genetic Engineering

Title Location CallNumber
Animal rights Circulating HV4708.Y84 2004
Animals and the law: a sourcebook Circulating KF390.5.A5 C87 2001
Encyclopedia of bioethics Reference QH332 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering Reference R857.M3 E63 2004
Encyclopedia of ethical, legal, and policy issues in biotechnolo... Reference TP248.16 .E539 2000
Encyclopedia of ethics Reference BJ63 .E45 2001
The Facts on File dictionary of biotechnology and genetic engine... Reference TP248.16.S84 2001

5. Terrorism, War

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of modern worldwide extremists and extremist groups Reference HN49.R33 A85 2004
Encyclopedia of terrorism Reference HV6431.K883 2003
Encyclopedia of world terrorism Reference HV6431.E53 2003
Encyclopedia of youth and war: young people as participants and ... Reference HQ784.W3 S54 2000

6. American life, Immigration

Title Location CallNumber
American attitudes : what Americans think about the issues that ... Reference HN90.P8 A527 2005
American generations : who they are, how they live, what they th... Reference HC110.C6 M545 1998
Facts about American immigration Reference JV6465.B73 2001
International migration : trends, policies, and economic impact Circulating JV6217 .I59 2001
The Millennials : Americans under age 25 Reference HQ796 .M55 2001

7. Crime, Criminals, Punishment

Title Location CallNumber
Encyclopedia of capital punishment in the United States Reference HV8694.P35 2001
Encyclopedia of crime and punishment Reference HV6017.E524 2002
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States criminal justice syste... Reference RA1057.55.P34 2004
Encyclopedia of juvenile justice Reference HV9104 .E58 2003
Encyclopedia of organized crime in the United States Reference HV6446.K43 2000
Encyclopedia of white-collar & corporate crime Reference HV6768.E63 2005
Encyclopedia of women and crime Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
The encyclopedia of American prisons Reference HV9471.S54 2003
The encyclopedia of high-tech crime and crime-fighting Reference HV6773.N48 2004
The encyclopedia of serial killers Reference HV6245 .N49 2000

8. Women, Gender, Sexuality

Title Location CallNumber
Domestic violence and child abuse sourcebook Circulating HV6626.2.D66 2000
Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States Reference HQ767.5.U5 P35 2002
Encyclopedia of birth control Reference HQ766 .R442 2000
Encyclopedia of domestic violence Reference HV6626.E534 2007
Encyclopedia of women's history in America Reference HQ1410.C85 2000
Encyclopedia of women and crime Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Handbook of American women's history Reference HQ1410 .H36 2000
International encyclopedia of women's suffrage Reference JF851 .H28 2000
Supreme Court decisions and women's rights : milestones to equal... Reference KF4758.A7 S87 2000
The encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS Reference RC606.6 .W385 2003
The encyclopedia of sexually transmitted diseases Reference RC200.1 .S525 2004
The sourcebook on violence against women Reference HV6250.4.W65 S68 2001

9. Statistics

Title Location CallNumber
Datapedia of the United States : American history in numbers Reference HA202.K87 2007
Population statistics Reference HA1107.5.P678
Statistical abstract of the United States Reference HA202.U57
The Gallup poll. Reference HN90.P8G35
The world's women, 2000 : trends and statistics. Reference HQ1154 .W95 2000
The World almanac and book of facts Reference AY67.N5 W7
Library Resources

Administrative Research Materials

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • US History
  • Humanities and social science
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF

Databases

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Reports
  • All full-text
  • Publications of Congressional Quarterly Press 

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks
  • All full-text

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers, Magazines, Multimedia, Pamphlets
  • All full-text

Proquest Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Publications include The Atlantic Journal - Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and many more
  • Coverage varies by title; earliest publications from 1977 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Internet Resources
  • Child Stats
    http://www.childstats.gov/
    Source: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics -- This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
  • The SocJournal: A New Media Journal of Sociology and Society
    http://www.sociology.org/
    Source: The Socjournal -- a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications. 
  • FedStats
    http://www.fedstats.gov/ 
    Source: FedStats -- Provides access to statistical data from Federal Agencies that are listed in Statistical Programs of the United States Government. Statistics are arranged by topic, searchable, and organized by state.
  • Human Rights Watch
    http://www.hrw.org/ 
    Source: Human Rights Watch -- The mission of HRW is to protect the human rights of people around the world. Their website provides news reports and articles related to human rights issues and violations worldwide.
  • ICPSR Data Archive
    http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/index.html
    Source: Univ. of Michigan Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research -- a searchable archive of data related to the social sciences. Categories of data include Census (Population Characteristics); Economic Behavior and Attitudes; Education; Health Care abd Facilities; Mass Political Behavior and Attitudes; Social Institutions and Behavior.
  • Intute: Social Sciences
    http://www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/ 
    Source: Intute -- A searchable database of internet resources related to the social sciences, including education, environmental sciences, social welfare, sport and leisure practice, and women’s studies.
  • IPL: Social Sciences
    http://www.ipl.org/IPLBrowse/GetSubject?vid=13&tid=6687&parent=0
    Source: Internet Public LIbrary -- Provides links to quality websites in all areas of the social sciences. Categories include Education; Ethnicity, Culture and Race; Gender & Sexuality; Psychology; Social Issues and Social Welfare;.
  • National Center for Education Statistics
    http://nces.ed.gov/index.asp 
    Source: U.S. Department of Education -- Provides new headlines, data, and facts about all levels of education in the US.
  • Public Agenda
    http://www.publicagenda.org/
    Source: Public Agenda -- A non-profit, non-partisan organization that conducts opinion research in an effort to bridge the gap between the political debates of an issue and the public’s view. 
  • SearchGov
    http://www.searchgov.com/
    Source: SearchGov.com -- A search engine which also provides links to U.S. government related sites, including Executive Agencies, Independent Agencies, and state sites.
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
    http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/ 
    Source: US Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics -- Provides statistical data about many aspects of criminal justice, organized into 6 topics.
  • Statistical Resources on the Web
    http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
    Source: University of Michigan Library -- A collection of sites for finding statistical data in many areas of the social sciences. Categories include Agriculture, Consumers, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, Military and Politics, among others.
  • US Census and Demographic Information 
    http://guides.lib.umich.edu/census
    Source: U.S. Census Bureau -- The summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. A main menu allows you to browse sections of related statistics, or you can search for a specific topic.
  • The US Government’s Official Web Portal
    http://www.usa.gov
    Source: U.S. General Services Administration -- Online access to a variety of government information, grouped by category.
  • Urban Institute
    http://www.urban.org/
    Source: Urban Institute -- This organization analyzes public policy, evaluates programs, and informs community development to improve social, civic and economic well-being. Documents on the website highlight research that has been done in many areas of public policy and social issues.
  • Yahoo! Society & Culture: Issues of the Day
    http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Issues_and_Causes/
    Source: Yahoo! -- The directory page lists over 100 social issues. Select an issue for a list of related websites, or search within the directory for a specific topic.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
robert.egan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300

Book Search
Browse the Collection
  • BF -- Psychology
  • BJ -- Ethics
  • BL -- Religion. Mythology. Rationism
  • HM -- Sociology (General)
  • HN -- Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
  • HQ -- The family. Marriage. Women
  • HT -- Communities. Classes. Races
  • HV -- Social pathology. Social and public welfare
  • KF -- United States
  • L -- Education (General)
  • T -- Technology (General)
  • TD -- Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files