Research Guides: Ophthalmics

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Health and Wellness Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Medicine
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Magazines, Pamphlets, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Websites  
  • Mostly full-text; some citations to journal articles
  • Publications include Gale medical encyclopedias, Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary, Medical Health Information Directory, and many more

Health Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
  • Facts on File search interface

Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

PubMed Restricted Resource
  • Medicine
  • Mostly citations; some citations link to full-text
  • Content from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) 

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Blindness and Vision Impairment
Print Location: RE91.S27 2002
Reference Collection

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Visual Science
Print Location: RE21.D42 1989
Reference Collection
Ophthalmic Terminology: Speller and Vocabulary Builder
Print Location: RE20.S73 1987
Reference Collection
Quick Reference Dictionary of Eyecare Terminology
Print Location: RE21.H64 2005
Reference Collection
Saunders Ophthalmology Word Book
Print Location: RE21.A33
Reference Collection
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Print Location: R121.T18 2005
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Diabetes Eye Care Sourcebook
Print Location: RE661.D5F66 1998

Handbook of Optics
Print Location: QC369.H35
Reference Collection
Lighthouse Handbook on Vision Impairment and Vision Rehabilitation
Print Location: RE91.L43 2000
Reference Collection
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for the NCLEX-PN Examination
Print Location: RT62.M62 2011

PDR for Ophthalmic Medicines
Print Location: RE994.P57 2003
Reference Collection
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
Print Location: QC173.S5985 2006
Reference Collection

Websites

National Federation of Opticianry Schools
Source: National Federation of Opticianry Schools
The National Federation of Opticianry Schools (NFOS) is the national organization dedicated to the promotion of formal opticianry education offered by accredited educational institutions.
Robert Bendheim Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology
Source: New York Eye and Ear Infirmary
The Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology is a database of images drawn from the vast clinical experience of The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary specialists and their colleagues around the world. It is intended to serve as a visual reference and educational supplement for ophthalmologists, general physicians, and medical students.

Government Information

Occupational & Educational Personal Eye & Face Protection Devices
Print Location: RE840.A38 2003
Reference Collection

Atlases

Clinical Eye Atlas: the 10-Minute Hour
Print Location: RE51.C54 2002
Reference Collection
Subject Specialist
Picture: Alyssa Valenti

Alyssa Valenti
avalenti@raritanval.edu
Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: ext. 8351
Office Hours / More Info

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files