Research Guides: MLA Citation Style

Bookmark and Share
About MLA Style
Based on The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Edition

Please note that the examples that appear in this guide are not double spaced and do not have hanging indents. Your citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.  Follow your instructors requirements if they differ from the guidelines listed in this guide.
 
Electronic Sources
Article from a Library Database - MLA 5.6.4
Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume. Issue (Date): Pages. Name of Database. Web. Date Accessed.

Ex: Larson, Thomas. "In Spite of Everything: The Definitive Indefinite Anne Frank." The Antioch Review 58.1 (2000): 40-54. OmniFullTextMega. Web. 9 December 2000.
Article from an Online Journal - MLA 5.6.3
Use this format for scholarly journal articles you find using Google, Google Scholar, or that are otherwise freely available on the internet. (If you used a library database to find the article, use the format for "Article from a Library Database.")

Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title Volume.Issue (Date): Pages. Web. Date of Access.

(Note:  if there are no page numbers use n. pag. )

Ex : Capriotti, D. "
The Morality of Carelessness: The Montclair Typhoid Epidemic of 1894 ." New Jersey History 127.2 (2013): 1-9.  Web. 7 July 2014.
Entire Website - MLA 5.6.1-5.6.2
Author Last Name, First Name.  Title of Site. Editor or Sponsoring Organization. Date of Publication.  Web. Date of Access. ‹url› Cite URL only when the reader cannot find the source by doing a simple internet search.

(Note: If there is no author identified, begin with the title. If there is no date, use n.d. for “no date.” If there is no editor or organization, use N.p. for “no publisher.”
The “author” may be the organization that created the page. In that case, the organization is listed twice – as the author and as the editor or sponsoring organization.)

Ex (Entire Webpage): The Purdue OWL. Purdue U Writing Lab, 2010. Web. 9 July 2014. 
 
Single Page on a Website - MLA 5.6.1 - 5.6.2
Author Last Name, First Name. “Title of work or webpage.” Title of Site. Editor or Sponsoring Organization. Web. Date of Access. ‹url› Cite URL only when the reader cannot find the source by doing a simple internet search.

(Note: If there is no author identified, begin with the title. If there is no date, use N.d. for “no date.” If there is no editor or organization, use N.p. for “no publisher.”
The “author” may be the organization that created the page. In that case, the organization is listed twice – as the author and as the editor or sponsoring organization.)

Ex (Article):  Lewis, Jone Johnson. “Mother Shipton and the Prophecies of Mother Shipton.” About.com. New York Times, n.d. Web. 7 May 2009.
Newspaper or Magazine (Online) MLA 5.6.2b
Author. "Article Title." Name of Publication Volume. Issue (Date): Pages or n.pag. if there are no page numbers. Name of Database . Web. Date of Access.

Ex (Newspaper):  Slatalla, Michelle. "Dress-Up Dreams Fulfilled." 
New York Times [East Coast] 14 October 2004, Late Ed.: G4. Proquest Newspapers . Web. 2 November 2004.
Social Media Post
Facebook
 Last Name, First Name. "Title of Post (if available)".  Facebook.com.  Date of posting.  Web.  Date of access.

Ex (Facebook): Raritan Valley Community College.  "Check out the Library".  Facebook.com. 15 July 2014.   Web.   23 July 2014.

Twitter
Last Name, First Name (Username) . "Entire text of the tweet".  Date of posting, Time of Posting.  Tweet.

Ex (Twitter): Booker, Cory (CoryBooker). "It is your choice: accept things as they are OR take responsibility for changing them.".  14 July 2014.  3:25 AM. Tweet.

YouTube

Last Name, First Name (or username). "Title of work or webpage." Format. Title of Site . Editor or Sponsoring Organization - if none use N.p, Date of Publication or n.d for no date. Date of Access.

Ex (YouTube): RaritanValleyCC, "The Evelyn S. Field Library at RVCC." Online video clip.  YouTube. YouTube. 21 Apr. 2014. 7 July 2014.
Image (Online) MLA 5.6.2d
Image on the Web with Publication Data for Another Medium besides Print

Creator Last Name, First Name. Title or description of work.  Date of work.  Name of Institution where work resides.  Title of Site.  Web. Date of Access.  ‹url› Cite URL only when the reader cannot find the source by doing a simple internet search. 

(Note: If no creator identified, begin with the title. If there is no date, use n.d. for “no date.” If there is no editor or organization, use N.p. for “no publisher.”

EX (Image Online):  van Gogh, Vincent. Sunflowers. 1889.Van Gough Museum.  Van Gogh Museum. Web. 7 July 2014.


 
 

 

Print Sources
Book - MLA 5.5.2 - 5.5.5
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date. Print. 

Ex (Single Author):  Boyer, Ernest L. College: The Undergraduate Experience in America. New York: Harper & Row, 1987. Print.

Ex (Multiple Authors):  Siebert, Al, Laurence N. Smith and Timothy L. Walter. Student Success: How to Succeed in College and Still Have Time for Your Friends. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace College Publishers, 2000. Print.

Ex (Corporate Author):      United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Historical Atlas of the Holocaust. New York: Macmillan, 1996. Print.

Ebook:
Author Last Name, First Name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date. Format.  

Ex (Ebook):  Rowley, Hazel. Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage. New York: Farrar, 2010. Kindle file.
(Note: Format is the type of file, e.g. Kindle, Nook, Ebrary Ebook, Ebsco Ebook, etc. or Digital File if type is unknown.)

 
Newspaper Article (Print) MLA 5.4.5
Author Last Name, First.  “Title of Article.”  Name of Newspaper [City] Date Month Year, Edition: Pages. Print.

Ex:  Perlez, Jane. "Vienna to Go Ahead With Holocaust Shrine." New York Times [East Cost] 4 Mar. 1998, Late ed.: A8. Print.
 (Note: Include as much Date/Edition information as the newspaper provides.)
Magazine Article (Print) MLA 5.4.6
Author Last Name, First Name.  “Title of Article.”  Name of Magazine Date: Pages. Print.

Ex:  Loomis, Carol J. “Everything in History was Against Them.”  Fortune 13 April 1998: 64-85. Print.
Work in an Anthology/Book Chapter - MLA 5.5.6
This format is used for essays or works that are reprinted in a collection of essays/poems/short stories, etc. In an anthology, each essay (chapter) has a different chapter and the book has an editor. (If the same authors wrote all of the chapters, you should use the citation format for "Chapter in a Book.")

Author Last Name, First Name.  “Title of Essay or Chapter.”  Title of Anthology. Edition.  Ed. (followed by First Name Last Name of Editor).  Volume.  Place of Publication: Publisher, Date. Page numbers. Print.

Ex:  Mailer, Norman.  “The Man Who Studied Yoga.”  Anthology of American Literature. 3rd ed. Ed. George McMichael.  Vol. II.  
New York: Macmillan Publishing Company, 1985.  285-297. Print.
(Note: There may not always be an Editor, Volume or Edition.)

 
Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry - MLA 5.5.7
Author Last Name, First Name (if available). “Title of Article.” Title of Encyclopedia. Edition (followed by ed.). Date. Print.

Ex (No author):  “Dwight David Eisenhower.”  Encyclopedia of World Biography.  2nd ed.  1998. Print.
(Note: If articles are arranged alphabetically, do not include volume or page numbers.  For specialized reference sources - Ex: Encyclopedia of Christianity - give full publication information.) 
Scholarly Journal Article (Print) - MLA 5.4.2
Author Last Name, First Name.  “Title of Article.”  Title of Journal.  Volume.Issue (Date): Pages. Print.

Ex:  Ballard, Mary E., Shavonda Green, and Caroline Granger. "Affiliation Flirting, and Fun: Mock Aggressive Behavior in College Students." Psychological Record 53.1 (2003): 33-49. Print.
 (Note: Include as much Volume/Issue/Date information as the journal provides.)
Audio Visual Media
Film or Video MLA 5.7.3
Title . Dir. Name of Director. Perf. Names of Performers. Name of Distributor, Year of Release. Format.
(Note: Include original release date if appropriate – see DVD example)

Ex (Film):Into the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport . Dir. Mark Jonathan Harris. Perf. Judi Dench. Warner Brothers, 2000. Film.

Ex (DVD):The Godfather . Dir. Francis Ford Coppola. Perf. Marlon Brando and Al Pacino. 1972. Paramount, 2001. DVD.

 
Television or Radio Broadcast - MLA 5.7.1
Person being interviewed. Interviewer if known. "Title of episode or segment if appropriate." Title of Program or Series . Name of Network. Call letters, City of publication. Broadcast date. Format.

Ex (Broadcast Interview): Kelly, Kate. Interview by Dave Davies. "The Harder They Fall: The Last Days Of Bear Stearns." Fresh Air . National Public Radio. WNYC, New York. 12 May 2009. Radio.
Interview - MLA 5.7.7
Person being interviewed. Interviewer if known. "Title of episode or segment if appropriate." Title of Program or Series . Name of Network. Call letters, City of publication. Broadcast date. Format.
Ex (Broadcast Interview): Kelly, Kate. Interview by Dave Davies. "The Harder They Fall: The Last Days Of Bear Stearns." Fresh Air . National Public Radio. WNYC, New York. 12 May 2009. Radio.
Ex (
Personal Interview):
Dempsey, Megan. Personal Interview. 29 June 2009.
Egan, Robert. Telephone Interview. 29 June 2009.
Formatting Your MLA Paper (Video)
 
How to Make a Hanging Indent (Video)
View on YouTube for best quality.

Find Citation Info for Websites (Video)
Formatting Your MLA Paper
Instructors Requirements:
Follow your instructors requirements if they differ from the guidelines listed in this guide.

General Formatting:
  • Standard 8.5 x 11 paper
  • 1 inch margins on all sides
  • 12 point font with legible font (e.g., Times New Roman)
  • Double Space including works cited page
  • Consecutive page numbers in upper right corner preceeded by your last name
  • No separate title page

Sample paper in MLA style, with formatting notes

 
Formatting Your Works Cited
What’s New!
MLA requires that titles are now italicized instead of underlined.
MLA requires that citations include the format of the work (i.e. web, print, radio, etc).
MLA no longer requires URLs if the item can be found by doing a simple internet search.
MLA requires that the citation include both the volume and issue number even if page numbers are included.

Arrangement of Entries. MLA 5.3.3 – 5.3.5

MLA requires a hanging indent in a list of works cited. In a hanging indent, the first line of each citation begins at the margin, and the following lines are indented by 1/2".
Double space within and between entries.
Alphabetize by author's last name.
Indicate format (i.e. Print, Web, Television etc)
If two or more sources are by the same author, alphabetize by second author’s last name or title of work and put 3 hyphens in place of author’s name.

 
Citing Sources in the Text
Use a parenthetical citation with the author's last name and the page number just next to the information that you are citing.
(Author Last Name Page number).

One Author:

Ex:  (Roberts 35).

Two or Three Authors:
Use last name of each author:
Ex:  (Locke and Case 454).


More than three Authors:
Use first author's last name followed by et al. or use all the last names.
 Note: For a parenthetical reference, follow the bibliographic form you used: give the first author's last name followed by et al. or list all of the authors.

Ex: (


No Page Number:
If there is no page number, provide just the author's last name.
Ex:  (Roberts)
.

No Author or 2 or more entries by the same author:
Include title or shortened title and page #.
Ex: (Kohn, "Unconditional Teaching" 24).

If you mention the author's name in your text: 
 
Provide the page number.
Ex:  According to Marie Roberts...(35).

Two or more works in a single parenthetical reference: MLA 6.4.9
Separate by semicolons.
Ex: (Kohn, "Unconditional Teaching" 24; Larson 52).
 
Additional Citation Resources
For more examples or for a format not listed here, try one of these sites.
 
Library Resources

Handbooks & Guides

A Writer's Reference
Print Location: PE1408.H2778 2011
Reference Desk
Easy Writer : A Pocket Reference
Print Location: PE1408 .L85 2009

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: LB2369.G53 2009

The Bedford Handbook
Print Location: PE1408.H277 2010
Reference Desk
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide.