Research Guides: Interpersonal Communications (Prof. Hersh)

Bookmark and Share
Identifying Scholarly Articles
Use the information on the webpage linked below to learn what a scholarly journal article looks like.

Identifying Scholarly Articles
http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/idscholarlyart.cfm

Things to look for to know if you've found a scholarly article:
  • ‚ÄčIt is published in a peer-reviewed journal (you have checked off "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" or "academic journals" in the database, if it's an option).
  • It is written by an expert in the field (author or multiple authors have PhD's, work for universities or research institutes, have other credentials that tell you they are an expert).








 
  • It is an original research study or an in-depth analysis of an issue (read the abstract to determine this).
  • It may include charts and graphs showing statistical results of the study; it will be mostly text, mostly black and white, and use professional language or jargon from the field.
  • It will include a list of References (Bibliography, Works Cited) at the end.

Prefer a video? 
The video below (by librarian Alyssa Valenti) walks you through the differences between a scholarly journal and popular magazine using the information from the Identifying Scholarly Articles link above.

Searching Databases for Scholarly Articles
The video below will demonstrate how to search library databases for scholarly articles related to communications topics. After viewing the video, use the links in "Databases for Scholarly Articles" section below to access library databases, or go to the library homepage (http://library.raritanval.edu) and select from the Databases tab.

Databases for Scholarly Articles
Each database contains a set of journals in specific disciplines or fields of study. The databases that are best for your topic will depend on the topic. Consider which subject area or discipline your topic falls into and try searching the databases listed under that discipline below.

Communications

Communication & Mass Media Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Communications, Mass Media
  • Scholarly Journals, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
  • Some full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface


Sociology (for topics related to families, gender, the workplace, relationships, society, etc)

SocIndex Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology
  • Scholarly Journals, ebooks, Conference Proceedings
  • EBSCOHost search interface


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 


Psychology (for topics related to an individual's behavior or development, including learning, child development, neuroscience, etc)

PsycArticles Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Psychology
  • Scholarly Journals
  • All full-text
  • Content from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association)


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sciences, Psychology, Medicine, Nursing
  • Scholarly Journals, E-books, Handbooks
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only


General/Multidisciplinary Databases
If the databases above don't give you enough information, or your topic deals with several different disciplines, try one of the multidisciplinary databases.

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Trade Journals, Book Reviews, Images,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface


Proquest Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Reports, Trade Journals E-Books, Conference Papers, Dissertations & Theses, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • ProQuest search interface

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412