Research Guides: Intercultural Communication (Dr. Banfield)

Bookmark and Share
Microcultures: Subject Searching
To find information on a specific microculture, use Subject searches in the library catalog or databases.

World Geography and Culture Online
Use this library database to find facts and figures, images, history, news and information about the people and culture of a country. Topics include languages, folklore and mythology, entertainment, sports, holidays and celebrations, rites of passage, and more.

World Geography and Culture Online   (Login required off-campus)
 
Global Insights
This website includes statistics; historical, economic and political conditions; and explanations of cultural practices.

Select a country from the list. Then use the menu on the left to learn about different aspects of the country. Be sure to click the Culture link for specific cultural information.

http://globaledge.msu.edu/global-insights/by/country

 
Society and Culture Ebooks
The library has Society and Culture Ebooks for 174 different countries. 

Click here to see the full list. Ebooks require login if off-campus.
Print Reference Books
There are number of print reference books on the first floor of the library that contain information on different countries and cultures. If you don't see your country/culture, try doing a Book Search in the box to the right.

Australian People
DU120.A718 2001
Reference Collection


Cultural Atlas of China
DS721.B56 1998
Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of China
DS705 .P47 1999
Reference Collection

Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
DJK9.E25 2005
Reference Collection 3 Volumes

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
DC33.7.E53 1998
Reference Collection

India Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
DS428.2.I535 2011
Reference Collection  2 Volumes

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
DS35.53 .O95 1995
Reference Collection 4 Volumes

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture
DG450.E53 2000
Reference Collection

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
DS805.C36 1993
Reference Collection

Japan Encyclopedia
DS821 .F73 2002
Reference Collection

Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
F1204.C66 2001
Reference Collection
Click here for E-book   (Login required off-campus)


Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East
DS43 .E53 1996
Reference Collection 4 Volumes

Encyclopedia of the Palistinians
DS113.6.E53 2005
Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
DP233.5.E63 1999
Reference Collection

Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas: South America
F2229.S66 1999
Reference Collection 2 Parts
 
International Dialects of English Archive
http://www.dialectsarchive.com/

This website has audio recordings of difference dialects and accents of English spoken around the world.
Newspapers for Current Event Report
International Newspapers

The Paperboy (http://www.thepaperboy.com)
Links to papers from around the world on-line.


Selected Newspapers from Specific Countries & Regions

Europe
BBC World Service  (http://news.bbc.co.uk/)
Reuters (http://www.reuters.com/news).

South Asia
The Hindu (http://www.hinduonnet.com/)
Is a great source for information from the subcontinent.

Middle East
The Jerusalem Post  (http://www.jpost.com/)
is recognized as one of the best news sites on the Net.

Japan/Southeast Asia
Asahi Shimbun (http://ajw.asahi.com/)

Russia
St. Petersburg Times (http://www.sptimes.ru/)
Moscow TImes (http://www.themoscowtimes.com/)

Australia/South Pacific
The Age (http://www.theage.com.au/)
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Book Search
APA Style Guide
For APA citation formatting, use our online guide.

http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/citation/apa.cfm