Research Guides: International Business (Prof. Ferrer)

Bookmark and Share
Sources for Country Paper
Global Insights
Use Insights by Country and select an option from the drop-down menu. 
After making a selection, use the menu options on the right side of the screen to learn more about different topics related to the country or industry you chose.

Under Tools and Data, use the Comparator Tool to compare various data across two or more countries. 

Explore the options under Reference Desk for links to helpful information for your Industry Paper.

Watch video on searching Global Insights

Click image below to go to website.
Country Commercial Guides
Excellent resource for information about doing business in specific countries. 
Select your country from the drop-down menu and click Go. 
From the results, select the Country Commercial Guide, which will be a PDF titled "Doing Business in [country name]."
http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no

Watch video on finding Country Commercial Guides

Click image below to go to Country Commerical Guides.
Investment Climate Statements
Prepared by the U.S. Department of State. Provide country and economy-specific information on investment laws, measures, and other useful information when planning to conduct business in a foreign country.

Find an Investment Climate Statement

(The same information is included as Chapter 6 in the Country Commercial Guides.)
 
CIA World Factbook
Use the drop-down menu on the left to select a country.
Click the + next to each category to expand information. Pay particular attention to "Economy" and "Transnational Issues." 
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ao.html


The World Bank
Find data about development in countries around the world. 
Use the middle box (seen below) to search for an indicator or browse by country or topic.

Eldis Regional and Country Profiles
By region or by country, find information related to international development issues. Key topics include:
  • Agriculture and food
  • Climate change
  • Conflict and security
  • Gender
  • Governance
  • Health
  • HIV
  • ICTs for development (Information & Communications Technology)
  • Nutrition
  • Rising powers in international development
Find a region or country
Foreign Affairs (Journal)
Eurostat
Eurostat can be used to find news and statistics about European markets. 
Topics include:
  • General and regional statistics
  • Economy and finance
  • Population and social conditions
  • Industry, trade and services
  • Agriculture, forestry and fisheries
  • International trade
  • Transport
  • Environment and energy
  • Science and technology
http://ec.europa.eu/eurostat
Sources for Industry Paper
ABI/Inform Complete
  1. Click Browse from top menu.
  2. Select Business Monitor Internation (BMI) Industry Reports or Oxford Analytica Country Profiles.
  3. Select Browse by location tab.
  4. Find a country and click View Documents link.
  5. On the left side of the screen, sort results by Publication date (most recent first).

Watch video on searching ABI/Inform Complete

Click image below to go to database.
Business Source Elite Database
  1. Enter a country name in the first search box.
  2. Enter the NAICS/Industry Code in the box provided toward the bottom of the screen.
  3. In the Published date from area, enter last year and the current year to get the most recent results.
  4. Click Search. Browse the titles of related articles in your results. Click the Full text links to read the entire article.

Watch video on searching Business Source Elite

Click image below to go to database.
Global Insights
Use Insights by Industry and select an option from the drop-down menu. 
After making a selection, use the menu options on the right side of the screen to learn more about different topics related to the country or industry you chose.

Under Tools and Data, use the Comparator Tool to compare various data across two or more countries. 

Explore the options under Reference Desk for links to helpful information for your Industry Paper.

Watch video on searching Global Insights.

Click image below to go to website.
Nielsen Reports
Nielsen provides news articles and reports on consumer behavior around the world. 



Use the Newswire option for timely articles on consumer affairs.
Use the Reports option to view reports in 6 categories:
  • Consumer
  • Global
  • Innovation
  • Media and Entertainment
  • Mobile
  • Online
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a library database for business and legal information and news articles. 

Find Industry Information Using LexisNexis Academic pdf
IMS Institute for Healthcare Informatics
Reports and healthcare briefs are available on a variety of healthcare and pharmaceutical topics.

 
Use the Reports tab for the latest reports from IMS Health. You may need to provide some information to download the full report, but the "exhibits" or tables and charts within the report can be downloaded for free.

Use the Healthcare Briefs tab for articles on different topics that are freely available. Some briefs have a list of references which may lead you to additional sources. 
OTHER RECOMMENDED SOURCES
Business News
Wall Street Journalhttp://online.wsj.com/home-page
(Some content is free, some requires subscription)

The New York Timeshttp://www.nytimes.com/pages/business/index.html

The Washington Posthttp://www.washingtonpost.com/business/

International Business Times - http://www.ibtimes.com/
Hoover's Company Profiles
Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business
  • Reports
  • Mostly full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Content from Hoover’s Company Records published within the last month
  • ProQuest search interface
JSTOR (Library Database)
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 


JSTOR is a library subscription database that includes journals from a wide variety of subject areas, include Business, Economics, Finance, International Relations, and Labor & Employment Relations.

Not all content in JSTOR is current. JSTOR is an archival database - back issues of journals are available often to the beginning of a journal's publication. However, JSTOR has a "moving wall" of access. Often the most recent 2-4 years of a journal's issues are not available in full-text from JSTOR. This database is good for historical information or information that does not have to be from the most recent 1-2 years. 
Bureau of Economic Analysis

Provided by the US Department of of Commerce, this website can be used to find statistical economics data. Data is provided in the following categories:
  • National
  • International
  • Regional
  • Industry
  • Supplement Accounts
http://bea.gov