Research Guides: History

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Indian History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Women's History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years 
  • Facts on File Interface

Biography Reference Bank Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Literature, Popular Culture
  • Biographies, Book Reviews, Essays, Images
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Content from Current Biography, Junior Authors & Illustrators, and World Authors Series
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies, History
  • Primary Sources, Biographies, Essays, Images, Laws, Legal Documents
  • All full-text
  • E-book of Great Events from History: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender Events, 1848-2006 (Print copy available in library)

History Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Magazines, Government Publications, Images, Multimedia
  • Publications include American Historical Review, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Military History, and many more
  • EBSCOHost search interface

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Art History, Business, Economics, Education, History, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Social Sciences
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Archival coverage of journals back to first issue
  • Moving wall embargo – full-text may not be available for most current 1-5 years, depending on publication 

New York Times - Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspaper, Images
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Coverage includes articles from September 18, 1851 to 2005
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
Cambridge World History of Food
Print Location: TX353.C255 2000

Cultural Atlas of China
Print Location: DS721.B56 1998
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia Latina : History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Print Location: E184.S75 E587 2005
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African American History
Print Location: E185 .E5453 2009
Reference Collection
5 vols.
Encyclopedia of American History
Print Location: E174.5.E52
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Print Location: DS31 .E53 1987
Reference Collection
Historic U.S. Court Cases, 1690-1990 : an encyclopedia
Print Location: KF385.A4 J64 1992
Reference Collection
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture & Peoples
Print Location: E77 .P89 1998
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Print Location: DS35.53 .O95 1995
Reference Collection
4 Volumes

Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: D114 .D5 1982
Reserve Collection
Dictionary of Twentieth Century World History
Print Location: D419 .P32 1997
Reference Collection
Historical Dictionary of Iraq
Print Location: DS70.9 .G47 2004
Reference Collection
Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution
Print Location: E209 .M36 2010
Reference Collection
Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary Fund
Print Location: HG3881.I58 H86 1999
Reference Collection
Notable American Women, 1607-1950
Print Location: CT3260 .N57
Reference Collection
3 vols.
Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century
Print Location: CT3260.N5725 2004
Reference Collection
Who Was Who in Native American History
Print Location: E89 .W35
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Abraham Lincoln and the Second American Revolution
Print Location: E457.2.M4758 1991

American Crucible: Slavery, Emancipation and Human Rights
Print Location: HT1048.B523 2011

Baby Boom: Americans Born 1946 to 1964
Print Location: HF5415.33.U6 R877 2004
Reference Collection
Cambridge Ancient History
Print Location: D57 .C252
Reference Collection
Cambridge History of Egypt
Print Location: DT94 .C36 1998
Reference Collection
Cambridge History of Japan
Print Location: DS835 .C36 1988
Reference Collection
Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas: South America
Print Location: F2229.S66 1999
Reference Collection
2 Parts
Cambridge Illustrated History of China
Print Location: DS706.E37
Reference Collection
Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: D117 .C32
Reference Collection
Chronological History of United States Foreign Relations, 1776 to January 20, 1981
Print Location: E183.7.B745 1985
Reference Collection
Chronology of Hispanic-American History
Print Location: E184.S75 C49
Reference Collection
Cold War
Print Location: D839.5 .C65 1992
Reference Collection
Cold War, 1945-1991
Print Location: D839.5 C65 1992
Reference Collection
Early Modern Europe
Print Location: D209 .C66 2001
Reference Collection
Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
Print Location: DJK9.E25 2005
Reference Collection
3 Volumes
Great Events from History. The 17th Century, 1601-1700
Print Location: D246.G68 2006 v.1
2 Volumes
Great events from history. The Middle Ages, 477-1453
Print Location: D119.G74 2005 v.1
2 Volumes
Great Events from History. The Renaissance & Early Modern Era, 1454-1600
Print Location: D228.G73 2005 v.1
2 Volumes
Great Events from History: The 19th Century
Print Location: D358 .G74 2006
Reference Collection
History of Women in the West
Print Location: HQ1121.S79513 1992
Reference Collection
3 volumes
History of World War I
Print Location: D521 .H48 2001
Reference Collection
Milestone Documents in American History : Exploring the Primary Sources that Shaped America
Print Location: E173.M62 2008
Reference Collection
3 vols.
Milestone Documents in World History: Exploring the Primary Sources that shaped the world
Print Location: D5.M54 2010
Reference Collection
4 vols.
New Cambridge Modern History
Print Location: D208 .N4
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Print Location: JA61.O95 2001
Reference Collection
Oxford Companion to United States History
Print Location: E174.O94 2001
Reference Collection
Reader's Guide to American History
Print Location: E178 .P27 R42 1997
Reference Collection
Slavery by Another Name: the Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II
Print Location: E185.2.B545 2009

U.S. Department of State: a Reference History
Print Location: JZ1480.A4 1999
Reference Collection
Women's Rights in the United States: A Documentary History
Print Location: HQ1236.5.U6 W68
Reference Collection
Women’s Chronology: a Year-by-Year Record from Prehistory to the Present
Print Location: HQ1122.T73
Reference Collection

Magazines

Current History
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.

Newspapers--International

BBC World Service
Source: BBC
Excellent source for European news

Websites

American Civil War Homepage
Source: Dr. George H. Hoemann, Univ. of Tennessee
A collection of Internet resources about the Civil War, including biographical information, military information, battles and campaigns, images, records and rosters.
American History/About.com Guide
Source: About.com
Browse by topic for biographies, articles, timelines, speeches and images related to all aspects of American History. Links to outside Internet resources which may or may not have research value and should be evaluated carefully.
American Memory Resource contains images
Source: Library of Congress
A collection of digitized documents, audio and video files, photographs and images, maps and sheet music chronicling the American experience.
Best of History Web Sites
Source: The Best of History Web Sites
The quickest path to a rich variety of content, including multimedia presentations, subject gateways, lesson plans and activities, primary resources, interactive quizzes and games, virtual tours, maps and atlases, statistical collections, and more.
Biography.com Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Source: Biography.com
A site created by the A&E network and based on the popular show Biography. The site offers basic infor on more than 25,000 famous persons.
Country Fact Sheets
Source: U.S. Department of State
These publications from the US State Department include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Profiles Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Source: BBC News
BBC News Guides to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Many sites also include audio or video clips from BBC archives.
Country Studies Some full text available
Source: Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered.
Early Modern Women Database
Source: University of Maryland
Provides links to web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas (ca. 1500 to ca. 1800).
Historical Country Names
Source: Nations Online
Lists of historical/former names of countries (by continent)
History Channel
Source: A&E Networks
The Resources are: Discussions, Newsletters, Shop History, The History Channel Magazine, Travel, World Timeline, and Maps
History of Theatre
Source: Tupelo Community Theatre
An introductory history of the theater, defined here as an art form consisting of works written for the stage and to be performed by actors. Touches on ancient, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Shakespearean, 18th through 20th century, and community theater.
IPL: History
Source: The Internet Public Library
A public service organization and a learning/teaching environment founded at the University of MichiganSchool of Information and hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology.
Jewish Culture and History
Source: David M. Dickerson
Kean University New Jersey History Project
Source: Trevar Riley-Reid, a Rutgers MLS student working at the Kean University Library
A collection within the HathiTrust Digital Library which contains the full text of documents on the history of the state of New Jersey. To access these documents, users can also navigate to http://www.hathitrust.org, click on the Public Collections tab and scroll down to the Kean Univ NJ History Project. 
Literary History Some full text available
Source: Donna Jan Pridmore, Editor/Publisher
Links to literary criticism on 19th and 20th century English and American literature. All articles are freely available on the Internet
Mark Twain in His Times
Source: The Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia
An “interpretive archive” Mark Twain and how his works reflect and represent his times. Includes manuscripts, reviews, articles, images, and more.
Presidential Powers & Executive Orders
A description of various presidential powers and a comparison with congressional powers.
United States Historical Census Data Browser
Source: Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia Library
Statistical data describing the people and economy of the United States for each state and county from 1790 to 1960.
Voice of the Shuttle: History Page
Source: VoS
Woven by Alan Liu and a development team in the University of California, Santa Barbara, English Department. To suggest a link for inclusion, use the “Suggest a Link” button on the relevant page.

Organizations

Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
The Council is a nonpartisan and independent membership organization that promotes understanding of foreign policy and America’s role in the world. The homepage links to primary documents like treaties, UN resolutions, speeches, communiqués, etc. as well as probing interviews with experts; brief “explainers” reported and written by the editorial staff of cfr.org that delve deeply into an issue; and reports from the Council, other institutions, and government agencies. Also has links to news coverage from media sources around the world.

Primary Sources

Documents of American History
Print Location: E173 .C66 1973
Reference Collection
Facts on File History Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia
  • All full-text
  • Searches six Facts on File databases: African-American History Online; American History Online; American Indian History Online; American Women's History Online; Ancient & Medieval History Online; Modern World History Online
  • Facts on File search interface

Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 Resource contains images
Source: Library of Congress, American Memory Project
Sheet music is accessed by browsing subject or name indexes or by keyword. Images of the cover and the sheet music are available.
Historic Documents
Print Location: E839.5 .H57
Reference Collection
39 vols.

Statistics

American Cost of Living Survey
Print Location: HD6983.A67
Reference Collection
Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers
Print Location: HA202.K87 2004
Reference Collection

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Almanac of American History
Print Location: E178 .M667 2006

Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation and Integration
Print Location: JV6450.I5536 2013
Reference Collection

Atlases

Cultural Atlas of the Renaissance
Print Location: N6370.C84 1993
Reference Collection
Historical Atlas of the Holocaust
Print Location: G1797.21.E29 H5 1996
Reference Collection
Historical Atlas of the North American Railroad
Print Location: HE2751.H39 2010
Reference Collection
Historical Atlas of the United States
Print Location: G1201.S1 F5 2004
Atlas Stand
Historical Maps on File
Print Location: G1030 .M37 2001
Reference Collection
2 volumes
Times Atlas of World History
Print Location: G1030 .T54 1993
Atlas Stand
Subject Specialist
Picture: Robert Egan

Robert Egan
robert.egan@raritanval.edu
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8300

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files