Research Guides: Global and Multicultural Studies

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Administrative Research Materials

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • US History
  • Humanities and social science
  • Scholarly Journals, Book Reviews, Theater Reviews, Pamphlets
  • All full-text, PDF

Databases

African American History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Biographies, Notable Scientists, Presidential Profiles, Revolutionary War Leaders, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Indian History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years
  • Facts on File search interface

American Women's History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include American Indian Lives, Contemporary Native American Issues, Indians of North America, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events of the last 500 years 
  • Facts on File Interface

ArtStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
  • Art
  • Images
  • Images from numerous collections including the American Folk Art Museum, J. Paul Getty Museum, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Library of Congress, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, National Gallery of Art,  Rijksmuseum, and many more

GenderWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies
  • Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Handbooks, Government Publications
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • ProQuest search interface

Informe Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Eventos de Actualidad, Cultura Popular; Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Revistas Hispanas, Articulos Académicos Latinoamericanos; Hispanic Magazines, Scholarly Journals
  • Varios articulos completos, algunos contienen solo referencias bibliográficas o resúmenes; Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Programa que permite hacer busquedas en español; Spanish search interface

Modern World History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • History
  • Encyclopedias, Primary Sources, Biographies, Images, Multimedia, Speeches
  • All full-text
  • Publications include Biographical Dictionary of Modern World Leaders, Dictators & Tyrants: Absolute Rulers and Would-Be Rulers in World History, Encyclopedia of World War I, Speeches in World History, and many more
  • Coverage of historical events from the 15th century to present

Referencia Latina Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinario; Multidisciplinary
  • Publicaciones Académicas, Revistas, Periódicos, Diccionario Español – Inglés, Libros Electrónicos; Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Spanish-English Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, E-books
  • Varios articulos completos, algunos contienen solo referencias bibliográficas o resúmenes; Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • Programa que permite hacer busquedas en español; Spanish search interface

World Atlas Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Geography
  • Maps, Images, Encyclopedia
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Most current information

World Data Analyst Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Economics, Geography, History
  • Encyclopedia, Graphs, Statistics
  • All full-text
  • Content from Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Current and historical information available for most countries

World Geography and Culture Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
  • Geography, History, Current Events, Cultural Studies
  • Maps, Statistics, Images, News
  • All full-text

Encyclopedias

African American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E185 A253
Reference Collection
6 vols. + supplements
Arab American Encyclopedia
Print Location: E184.A65 A48 2000
Reference Collection
Australia: the Complete Encyclopedia
Print Location: DU90 .A97 2001
Reference Collection
Cultural Atlas of China
Print Location: DS721.B56 1998
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations
Print Location: DT14 .E43 2002
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Print Location: DS31 .E53 1987
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Print Location: DC33.7.E53 1998
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture
Print Location: DG450.E53 2000
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Print Location: DP233.5.E63 1999
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Genocide
Print Location: HV6322.7.E53 1999
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Modern Middle East
Print Location: DS43 .E53 1996
Reference Collection
4 Volumes
Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: E184 .A1 G14
Reference Collection
2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Print Location: E76.2 .W35 1988
Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of the Palistinians
Print Location: DS113.6.E53 2005
Reference Collection
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Print Location: E184.A1 G14
Reference Collection
2 vols.
India Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the Republic
Print Location: DS428.2.I535 2011
Reference Collection 
2 Volumes
Japan Encyclopedia
Print Location: DS821 .F73 2002
Reference Collection
Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas
Print Location:
Reference Collection
Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Print Location: F1204.C66 2001
Reference Collection


Click here for E-book   (Login required off-campus)
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture & Peoples
Print Location: E77 .P89 1998
Reference Collection
2 vols.
New Encyclopedia of Islam
Print Location: BP40.G42 2001
Reference Collection
Notable Asian Americans
Print Location: E184 .O6 N67
Reference Collection
Notable Latino Americans
Print Location: E184 .S75 M435 1997
Reference Collection
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Print Location: DS35.53 .O95 1995
Reference Collection
4 Volumes
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (3 volumes)
Print Location: G63.W67 2001
Reference Collection
3 volumes

Dictionaries

Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism
Print Location: BL1105.S98
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Australian People
Print Location: DU120.A718 2001
Reference Collection
Dun and Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World
Print Location: HF 1416.M78 1997
Reference Collection
Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
Print Location: DJK9.E25 2005
Reference Collection
3 Volumes
Global Terrorism
Print Location: HV6431.H43 2004
Circulating Books
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling
Print Location: BF637 .C6 H3174
Reference Collection
Hindu World
Print Location: BL1105.W34
Reference Collection
Reference Library of Black America
Print Location: E185 .R435
Reference Collection
5 vols.

Magazines

Foreign Affairs
Print Location: Check Out Desk

France-Amerique
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Hola
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Out Magazine
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Newspapers

African American Newspapers Collection
Among the various newspapers in the collection is Frederick Douglass's The North Star, which he ran out of Rochester, New York, during the antebellum years.

Newspapers--International

All Africa Resource contains images Resource contains video
Source: AllAfrica
AllAfrica.com describes itself as "the largest electronic distributor of African news and information worldwide." It aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, and there is a searchable archive.
Hindu
Source: The Hindu
A great source for information from South Asia. The Hindu, started in 1878 as a weekly, became a daily in 1889 and from then on has been steadily growing to the circulation of 15,58,379 copies (ABC: July-December 2012) and a readership of about 22.58 lakhs.
International Herald-Tribune
Source: The New York Times
The global edition of the New York Times.
Moscow Times
Source: The Moscow Times
English news from Russia.
Paperboy
Source: Thepaperboy.com
Links to papers from around the world online.
St. Petersburg Times
Source: The St. Petersburg Times
English news from Russia.

Websites

Amnesty International
Source: Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.
Cambodian Genocide Program
Source: Yale University
Since 1994, the award-winning Cambodian Genocide Program, a project of the Genocide Studies Program at Yale University's MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, has been studying these events to learn as much as possible about the tragedy, and to help determine who was responsible for the crimes of the Pol Pot regime.
CIA World Factbook
Source: CIA
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Also includes maps of the major world regions, Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Columbia Gazetteer of North America
Source: Bartleby.com
Encyclopedia of geographic names and features

Country Commercial Guides
Source: US Commercial Service
Provides market research reports for various industries in countries throughout the world. Guides include information on political and economic environment, trade regulations, investment climate, leading sectors for US export and investment and business travel.
Country Fact Sheets
Source: U.S. Department of State
These publications from the US State Department include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Country Studies Some full text available
Source: Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress
On-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered.
Human Rights Watch
Source: Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide. They are dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
Issues: Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
Source: Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
This site "is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."

Prevent Genocide International
Source: The International Campaign to End Genocide (ICEG)
Prevent Genocide International, established in 1998, is a global education and action network for the prevention of genocide and crimes against humanity. Includes Resources, Books and Articles, Reports, Survivor and Eyewitness testimonies, Commemoration, Film and Video and Websites
Sudan: Overview
Source: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Overview of the situation in Sudan including UN documents and news updates. Categories include Warning Signs, Acts of Violence, Responses, and Legacy.
United Nations Global Issues
Source: United Nations
This website offers an overview of some of these global issues, and links to other resources where you can get additional information.
WomenWatch
Source: United Nations -- United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality.

Organizations

Foreign Policy Association (FPA)
The Foreign Policy Association (FPA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to inspiring the American public to learn more about the world. The site allows exploration by issue or region.

Primary Sources

Documents of American Diplomacy
Print Location: E183.7 .D63 2002
Reference Collection

Statistics

American Factfinder
Source: United States Census Bureau
"Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data come from several censuses and surveys."
 
Country Commercial Guides
Source: US Commercial Service
Provides market research reports for various industries in countries throughout the world. Guides include information on political and economic environment, trade regulations, investment climate, leading sectors for US export and investment and business travel.
Gender Stats
Source: Worldbank
Provides gender statistics at the country level.
Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
Print Location: E184.A1 R78 2009
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Asians
Print Location: E184.A75 W56 2011
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Blacks
Print Location: E185.615.W46 2011
Reference Collection
Who We Are : Hispanics
Print Location: E184.S75 W525 2011
Reference Collection

Government Information

World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook
Print Location: JZ1242 .W67 2002
Reference Collection

Almanacs & Yearbooks

World Fact Book Restricted Resource
E-book - Credo Reference

Atlases

Atlas of the Middle East
Print Location: G2205.N34 2008
Reference Collection
Rand McNally Premier World Atlas
Print Location: G1021.R45 2003
Atlas Stand

DVD

Afrocentrics Approaches to Group Work: I Am Because We Are Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Working with a mixed race group, this DVD shows how to interface gender and racial identities and facilitate individual and group growth. The detailed leader guide includes overheads, classroom exercises, reflective discussion topics, and an overview of key points.
Culturally Proficient Instruction Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Featuring authors Kikanza Nuri Robins, Randall B. Lindsey, Delores B. Lindsey, and Raymond D. Terrell, the video includes intimate discussions with teachers, principals, and administrators about their journeys to become culturally proficient.
 
Ethnic Sharing: Valuing Diversity Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Giordano presents adolescents honestly talking about issues of racism and discrimination. The students share family stories and personal experiences from the African-American, Hispanic, Italian, Korean, Jewish and Muslim heritage. This will help undergraduate and graduate students to engage in their own ethnic/racial sharing and to encourage discussion of multicultural issues in their own group practice.
 
Group Microskills: Encountering Diversity Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Students will learn: 1) skills and strategies precisely identified with subtitles clarifying what group leaders actually do to make things happen; 2) how to encounter difficult issues around diversity, including White privilege. This DVD is invaluable for both group and multicultural courses. Lynn leads a full five-stage session showing how intentional use of group microskills leads to concrete change in awareness of self-in-relation. Allen demonstrates issues that can occur when a White person leads a multiracial group.
 
Group Microskills: Encountering Diversity, Part 2 Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Students will learn: 1) skills and strategies precisely identified with subtitles clarifying what group leaders actually do to make things happen; 2) how to encounter difficult issues around diversity, including White privilege. This DVD is invaluable for both group and multicultural courses. Lynn leads a full five-stage session showing how intentional use of group microskills leads to concrete change in awareness of self-in-relation. Allen demonstrates issues that can occur when a White person leads a multiracial group.
Integrating Diversity Guidelines for Practice Competency Restricted Resource Resource contains video
How can we teach the multicultural practice guidelines and competencies? This DVD shows that all aspects of diversity can be taught and utilized in professional work (e.g., case conceptualization, research projects, supervision, etc.). This DVD presents the cross-cutting Integrative Training Model (ITM) that will enable students and professionals to be culturally competent.
 
Multiculturalism: Issues in Counseling and Education Restricted Resource Resource contains video
A forum of three distinguished panelists, Don Pope-Davis, Luis Vazquez, and Derald Wing Sue, discuss multicultural education and counseling led by Gerald Stone.
Slavery, Race, and Inequality in America
Print Location: E185.615.B5556 2008 Resource contains video
Bill Moyers interviews historical and cultural sociologist Orlando Patterson and Glenn C. Loury on race and social division. He interviews Douglas Blackmon about his book Slavery by another name. Also includes excerpts from the P.O.V. documentary Traces of the trade, directed, produced and written by Katrina Browne.

Ebooks

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events, 1848-2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Sociology, Gender Studies, History
  • Primary Sources, Biographies, Essays, Images, Laws, Legal Documents
  • All full-text
  • E-book of Great Events from History: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, & Transgender Events, 1848-2006 (Print copy available in library)

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

Picture: Karen Thomas

Karen Thomas
kthomas@raritanval.edu
Adjunct Librarian
Tel: ext. 8350