Research Guides: Introduction to Communication Theory (Dr. Banfield)

Bookmark and Share
Communication & Mass Media Database
From the library homepage, click the Databases tab and select Communication & Mass Media from the drop-down list.

Enter your theory in the first search box and select SU Subject Terms from the drop-down box to right of the search box. Use quotes to search for phrases. Click Search.

(If there are no results, change the drop down box from SU Subject Terms to Select a field (optional), which will do a keyword search instead.)

  1. Click the option for Full Text on the left if you want to see only articles that are available in this database.
  2. Articles that are not available in full text will have a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This takes abotu a week for the article to arrive at our library. 
  3. Use the slider bar to select what dates your results were published.
  4. Click the PDF Full Text link to view the entire article.

 
Sample Scholarly Journal Article
Your scholarly article should be:
  1. Published in a peer-reviewed journal
  2. Written by an expert (or experts) in the field 
  3. Use a communication theory to understand the results of a research study
  4. Include a list of references citing other studies or research on the topic
Click here to see a sample scholarly journal article. (Click PDF Full Text on the left side of the screen.)
APA Citation for Database Articles

Article with Digital Object Identifier (DOI) 7.01.1

Author Last Name, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages. doi:####

Example:

Ward, T. & Birgden, A. (2007). Human rights and correctional clinical practice. Aggression and Violent Behavior, 12, 628-643. doi:10.1016/j.avb.2007.05.001

In-text Citation: Ward & Birgden (2007) deal with the question of offenders' human rights.
 

Article without Digital Object Identifier (DOI) APA 7.01.3

Author Last Name, A. A. (Year, and month only if there's no volume #). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages. Retrieved from (give the URL of database homepage).

Examples:

Scholarly Article

Browne-Krimsley, V. (2004). Lessons learned: Providing culturally competent care in a nurse-managed center. ABNF Journal 15(4), 71-74. Retrieved from http://galenet.galegroup.com.

In-text Citation: In this case study, nursing students were given the opportunity to work within the cultural and economic framework of a particular community (Browne-Krimsley, 2004).

See more examples at http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/citation/apa.cfm
Formatting an APA Style Research Paper
Learnng Objective:
The learner will be able to format a research paper using APA style for the title page, running head and page numbers, in-text citations, and References page.

 



This video is also available at:
http://youtu.be/awh_TmRtPPk

 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

APA Style Guide
For APA citation formatting, use our online guide.

http://library.raritanval.edu/resources/citation/apa.cfm
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide.