Research Guides: Business

Bookmark and Share
Library Resources

Databases

ABI/Inform Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Publications include American Economic Review, Economist, Financial Times, Journal of Economic Literature, MIT Sloan Management Review, Wall Street Journal, and many more
  • ProQuest search interface

Business Source Elite Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business, Economics
  • Scholarly Journals, Trade Journals, Magazines, Reports,
  • Many full-text articles; some articles have citation information only
  • EBSCOHost search interface

Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business
  • Reports
  • Mostly full-text; some articles have citation and abstract information only
  • Content from Hoover’s Company Records published within the last month
  • ProQuest search interface

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Multidisciplinary
  • U.S. & International Newspapers, Magazines, State & Federal Cases, Company Reports, Country Information
  • All Full-text
  • Publications include Business World, The Guardian, The Independent, New York Times, Moscow News, Wall Street Journal Abstracts, and many more
  • Coverage from 1980 to present

New York Times - Current Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events, Popular Culture, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspapers, Images
  • Mostly full-text articles; some articles have citation or abstract information only
  • Coverage includes articles from 2005 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

New York Times - Historical Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • History, Multidisciplinary
  • Newspaper, Images
  • All full-text, PDF
  • Coverage includes articles from September 18, 1851 to 2005
  • ProQuest search interface

Reference USA Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Business
  • Directories, Government Publications, Newspapers, Reports
  • All full-text
  • Most current information 

Wall Street Journal Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Current Events
  • Newspaper, Images
  • All full-text
  • Coverage from 1984 to present
  • ProQuest search interface

Encyclopedias

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Print Location: HF5803.A38 2003
Reference Collection
3 volumes
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Print Location: HF5353.E9
Reference Collection

Handbooks & Guides

Boone & Kurtz's Contemporary Business
Print Location: HD31.B6188 2012b

Business Math
Print Location: HF5691.C53 2014

Contemporary Business
Print Location: HD31.K877 2011

Magazines

Bloomberg Businessweek
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Forbes
Print Location: Magazine Lounge

Newspapers

New York Times
Print Location: Magazine Lounge
Current news is readily available. Some archives are searchable but may require subscription service. For back issues of The New York Times, use the New York Times Database, available from the databases list on the library homepage.

Websites

Bloomberg Industry News
Source: Bloomberg LP
Industry news from around the world.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Source: U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics on the larbor marketplace and the entire national economy.
Business Week Online – Small Business
Source: Bloomberg Business Week Online
Articles, advice, and tools for small businesses.
BusinessUSA
Source: U.S. Government
Information on starting or growing a business, accessing financing, and exporting. Looking forward, the more federal agencies continue to add resources to BusinessUSA to encompass the full range of business programs and services, the more we will be able to reduce the confusing array of websites that exist today.
Great American Group - Industry Insights
Source: Great American Group LLC
Regular reports on key industries.
Pew Research Center
Source: Pew Research Center
Much of the data is based on the U.S. Census and ACS data. Use USC's Census Database: Social Explorer to download data, maps, and reports.
World Development Indicators
Source: World Bank
International statistics with some data back to 1960. Includes more than 900 development indicators for over 200 countries covering economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector.
Yahoo! Company Index
Source: Yahoo!
"Yahoo! Finance brings you company profiles from Capital IQ, who provides users with information on over 9,000 public companies, including contact information, business summaries, officer and employee information, sector and industry classifications, business and earnings announcement summaries, and financial statistics and ratios. Yahoo adds stock charts based on historical data from Commodity Systems, Inc. (CSI), and links to other resources."

Organizations

Business Marketing Association
Begun in 1922 as the National Industrial Advertising Association, today's Business Marketing Association represents a lifetime of expertise in business-to-business marketing and communications. For more than 90 years, BMA has been the pre-eminent service organization for professionals in this vital industry. As market realities so often prove, no one stays in business that long without continually meeting their customers' needs.

Statistics

Business Statistics of the United States
Print Location: HC101.A13122
Reference Collection

Ebooks

Subject Specialist
Picture: Megan Dempsey

Megan Dempsey
megan.dempsey@raritanval.edu
Instructional Services Librarian
Tel: ext. 8412

RVOneSearch

Find articles, books and ebooks all in one place

Book Search
Still Need Help?
The librarians are here to help you!

Call us: 908-218-8865

Chat with us: Check if Live Help is Available at the top of this page.

Email us: reference@raritanval.edu

Visit us: Reference/Information Desk Library 1st floor

Or contact the Subject Specialist for this guide. 
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files